Kingston - Neurology
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neurology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35978
Summary
- Queen's Neurology is a five-year Royal College program based at an academic referral centre in Kingston serving South Eastern Ontario.
- Residents complete a mandatory three-month neuropediatrics rotation, with travel and housing funded by Queen's University.
- Senior years include 3-6 research blocks, and residents keep a 12-month longitudinal general neurology clinic with a single mentor.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Kingston General Hospital
- Hotel Dieu Hospital
- Providence Care Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- Hospital for Sick Children - Toronto
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario - Ottawa
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Residents keep a 12-month longitudinal general neurology clinic with one mentor and follow their own patients.
- Pre- and post-tests in EEG and EMG rotations, with a 70% score needed to pass.
- Weekly brain-cutting rounds and monthly neuropathology sessions give residents regular neuropathology exposure.
By year
- PGY-1
- General Internal Medicine3 blocks
- Neurology3 blocks
- Cardiology2 blocks
- Emergency Medicine2 blocks
- Infectious Disease1 block
- Rheumatology1 block
- Palliative care1 block
- PGY-2
- Critical Care Medicine2 blocks
- Geriatric Psych iatry
- Neuro- Ophthalmology
- Neuro-Surgery
- Neuro-Radiology
Other rotations
- Neurology Inpatient Stroke Service (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 5-10 blocks)
- General Neurology (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 7-12 blocks)
- EEG- Epilepsy (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
- EMG- Neuromuscular (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
- Neuropathology (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-4 blocks)
- Neuropediatrics (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-6 blocks)
- Research (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-6 blocks)
- Elective (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Kingston General Hospital (Kingston)
- Hotel Dieu Hospital (Kingston)
- Providence Care Hospital (Kingston)
- Hospital for Sick Children - Toronto (Toronto)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario - Ottawa (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Stuart Reid
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage