Kingston - Neurology
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioIMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 5 years
- IMG
- Neurology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35961
Summary
- Queen's offers a five-year neurology residency based at an academic referral centre serving about 600,000 people in South Eastern Ontario.
- Training sites include Kingston General, Hotel Dieu and Providence Care hospitals, plus a mandatory 3-month neuropediatrics rotation with travel and housing funded.
- Matched IMGs must complete the Pre-Residency Program and fulfill an Ontario return-of-service commitment after training.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Kingston General Hospital
- Hotel Dieu Hospital
- Providence Care Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- Hospital for Sick Children - Toronto
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario - Ottawa
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Residents follow their own patients in a 12-month longitudinal general neurology clinic with a single mentor.
- EEG and EMG rotations use pre- and post-tests requiring a 70% score to pass.
- Weekly brain cutting rounds and monthly neuropathology sessions are part of training.
By year
- PGY-1
- General Internal Medicine3 blocks
- Neurology3 blocks
- Cardiology2 blocks
- Emergency Med2 blocks
- Infectious Disease1 block
- Rheumatology1 block
- Palliative care1 block
- PGY-2
- Critical Care2 blocks
- Geriatric Psychiatry
- Neuro- Opthalmology
- Neurosurgery
- Neruoradiology
Other rotations
- Neurology Inpatient Stroke Service (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 5-10 blocks)
- General Neurology (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 7-12 blocks)
- EEG- Epilepsy (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
- EMG- Neuromuscular (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
- Neuropathology (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-4 blocks)
- Neuropediatrics (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-6 blocks)
- Research (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-6 blocks)
- Elective (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Info sessions
Wed 20 Jan 2027time not stated
Social · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Kingston General Hospital (Kingston)
- Hotel Dieu Hospital (Kingston)
- Providence Care Hospital (Kingston)
- Hospital for Sick Children - Toronto (Toronto)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario - Ottawa (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Stuart Reid
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage