Kingston - Neurosurgery
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG streamNew for 2027
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 6 years
- CMG
- Neurosurgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Pending accreditation
- 36962
Summary
- Queen's Neurosurgery is a 6-year residency accepting one resident annually, pending accreditation.
- Training is based at Kingston General Hospital, a Level-1 Trauma Centre, with Hotel Dieu Hospital as a secondary site and pediatric neurosurgery at CHEO in Ottawa.
- PGY-4 includes a mandatory 13-block research rotation, with support for Master's or PhD pathways.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- Kingston General Hospital
- Hotel Dieu Hospital
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Hospitalists, physician assistants and nurse practitioners manage ward logistics, freeing residents for operative time.
- Senior residents co-manage the Neurosurgery Intensive Care Unit with the Neuro-Intensivist.
By year
- PGY-1
- Neurosurgery5 Blocks
- Neurology3 Blocks
- General Surgery2 Blocks
- Neuroradiology2 Blocks
- Emergency Medicine1 Block
- PGY-2
- Neurosurgery7 Blocks
- Critical Care Medicine and Neurocritical Care Medicine3 Blocks
- Pediatric Neurosurgery3 Blocks
- PGY-3
- Neurosurgery9 Blocks
- Vascular Surgery2 Block
- Plastic Surgery/Peripheral Nerve2 Block
- PGY-4
- Research/Electives13 Blocks
- PGY-5
- Neurosurgery (Part of Chief Rotation)10 Blocks
- Pediatric Neurosurgery3 Blocks
Other rotations
- Neurosurgery (Part of Chief Rotation) (PGY-6 (Core of Discipline and Transition to Practice) · 10 Blocks)
- Neuropathology (PGY-6 (Core of Discipline and Transition to Practice) · 3 Blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
| PGY-6 | $104,167 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Kingston General Hospital (Kingston)
- Hotel Dieu Hospital (Kingston)
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Christopher Pasarikovski
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage