Kingston - Ophthalmology
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 5 years
- CMG
- Ophthalmology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35245
Summary
- Queen's Ophthalmology is a 5-year residency in Kingston, Ontario, training mainly at Hotel Dieu Hospital and Kingston General Hospital.
- PGY-1 ends with the six-week University of Toronto basic science course, and most of PGY-2 is devoted to emergent ophthalmic care.
- PGY-2 residents must conduct research projects, and an optional Research Stream is available from PGY-3 to PGY-5.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- Hotel Dieu Hospital
- Kingston General Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- Applicants must submit an ophthalmological report, with stereoacuity considered important for microsurgery.
- Optional Research Stream selected yearly from PGY-3 to PGY-5, after mandatory PGY-2 research.
- One-on-one teaching on most subspecialty rotations with 4-month subspecialty rotations.
By year
- PGY-2
- Subspecialty ophthalmology blocksBlocks 10-13
- Emergency Eye Clinic + Subspecialty clinicsBlocks 1-9
- PGY-3
- Subspecialty ophthalmology blocksBlocks 1-13
- PGY-4
- Subspecialty ophthalmology blocksBlocks 1-13
- PGY-5
- Subspecialty ophthalmology blocksBlocks 1-5
Other rotations
- ophthalmology blocks (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks)
- off-service blocks (Foundations of Discipline · 5 blocks)
- elective block (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Emergency Eye Clinic (Foundations of Discipline)
- Toronto Ophthalmology Residents' Introductory Course (Foundations of Discipline · 6 week)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hotel Dieu Hospital (Kingston)
- Kingston General Hospital (Kingston)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Rachel Curtis
Faculty profile of Dr. Rachel Curtis(opens in a new tab)
Ocular Oncology; Conjunctival pigmentation/melanoma; OSSN; Choroidal nevus monitoring; Ocular surface pathology (including pterygium excision); Comprehensive ophthalmology; Cataracts
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage