Kingston - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 5 years
- CMG
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35518
Summary
- Queen's PM&R is a five-year Kingston program matching one resident annually, based at Providence Care Hospital with off-service rotations at Kingston Health Sciences Centre.
- Core rehabilitation rotations are done as junior rotations in Foundations and repeated as longer senior rotations in Core of Discipline.
- Residents complete pediatric rehabilitation and prosthetics and orthotics blocks in Ottawa and a required scholarly project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Providence Care Hospital
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Hotel Dieu Hospital Site)
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Kingston General Hospital Site)
Show all 7Show fewer
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
- The Ottawa Hospital Rehabilitation Centre
- University of Ottawa Heart Institute
- Toronto Rumsey Centre
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- frequency “Monday through Thursday each week”
- Highlights
- EMG training sufficient to meet the six-month requirement for CSCN EMG certification by program completion.
- Spiral curriculum: core rehab rotations completed twice, as junior and then senior resident.
- Resident-run summer anatomy curriculum in the anatomy lab and museum.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Rehab Basics (Transition to discipline+ · 2 blocks)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 4 blocks)
- Geriatrics (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Selective (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Acquired Brain Injury (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Spinal Cord Injury (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Stroke (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Musculoskeletal (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Neurology (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Rheumatology (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Orthopedic Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Acquired Brain Injury (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Spinal Cord Injury (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Stroke (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Musculoskeletal (Core of Discipline · 4 blocks)
- EMG (Core of Discipline · 6 blocks)
- Pediatric Rehab (Core of Discipline · 1 block · Ottawa)
- Pediatric Rehab (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks · Kingston)
- Cardiac and/or Respiratory Rehab (Core of Discipline · 1 block · Kingston, Ottawa, or Toronto)
- Prosthetics and Orthotics (Core of Discipline · 1 block · Ottawa)
- Consolidation (Core of Discipline · 4 blocks)
- Research (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Electives (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Junior attending (Transition to practice)
- Electives (Transition to practice)
- Further EMG training (Transition to practice)
- Community elective (Transition to practice)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20 and 21 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Providence Care Hospital (Kingston)
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Hotel Dieu Hospital Site) (Kingston)
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Kingston General Hospital Site) (Kingston)
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital Rehabilitation Centre (Ottawa)
- University of Ottawa Heart Institute (Ottawa)
- Toronto Rumsey Centre (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Jessica Trier
Faculty profile of Dr. Jessica Trier(opens in a new tab)
Coaching in the clinical learning environment
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage