Kingston - Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 5 years
- CMG
- Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36265
Summary
- This is a 5-year Public Health and Preventive Medicine program whose first one or two years are completed in the Queen's Department of Family Medicine, Kingston-1000 Islands site.
- PGY3 is an academic year of PHPM course work, often toward an MPH or MSc in Epidemiology.
- PGY4 and PGY5 include 18 months of core public health placements and about 6 months of electives.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Public health agency
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Queen’s Department of Family Medicine (Kingston-1000 Islands site)
- Southeast Public Health
- Lakelands Public Health
Show all 4Show fewer
- Public Health Ontario
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Residents choose either one year of basic clinical training or two full family medicine years leading to CCFP.
- Annual PHPM boot camp for on-call training.
By year
- PGY-1
- core introductory public healthone mandatory block
Other rotations
- infectious disease rotation
- rotation in local public health
- communicable disease (PGY4 & 5)
- environmental health (PGY4 & 5)
- policy and planning (PGY4 & 5)
- health promotion and chronic disease prevention (PGY4 & 5)
- management and administration (PGY4 & 5)
- elective time (PGY4 & 5 · 6 months)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Queen’s Department of Family Medicine (Kingston-1000 Islands site) (Kingston)
- Southeast Public Health
- Lakelands Public Health
- Public Health Ontario
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
DFM Queen's Family Medicine
DFM CaRMS Team
Program director
Dr. Hugh Guan
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Sean Haffey
KTI, Site Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%