Kingston - Radiation Oncology
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 5 years
- CMG
- Radiation Oncology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35453
Summary
- Queen's Radiation Oncology is a 5-year residency based at the Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario at Kingston Health Sciences Centre.
- Community experience and pediatric oncology are provided outside the main training facility.
- Each resident is expected to complete at least one significant research project, with proposals reviewed by a dedicated Research Committee.
- Interviews are held by Zoom on January 29, 2027.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario at Kingston Health Sciences Centre
- Kingston General Hospital
- Hotel Dieu Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- University of Toronto
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- Research ties to the Queen's Cancer Research Institute, home of the Canadian Cancer Trials Group.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Respirology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
- Pathology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
- Medical Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
- Palliative Care (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
- Hematology/Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
- Gynecological Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
- brachytherapy (Core of Discipline (COD))
- stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) (Core of Discipline (COD))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario at Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Kingston)
- Kingston General Hospital (Kingston)
- Hotel Dieu Hospital (Kingston)
- University of Toronto (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Martin Korzeniowski
Faculty profile of Dr. Martin Korzeniowski(opens in a new tab)
Prostate Brachytherapy, Partial Breast Radiotherapy, GU Malignancies
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage