Lethbridge - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
University of CalgaryLethbridge, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 34606
Summary
- This 1-year PGY-3 emergency medicine program is a Lethbridge satellite of the Calgary CCFP-EM program, based at Chinook Regional Hospital.
- A weekly full academic day is shared with the Calgary programs, and all residents are expected to reach EDE-1 ultrasound equivalency.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Chinook Regional Hospital (CRH)
- Foothills Medical Hospital (FMH)
- Alberta Children’s Hospital (ACH)
Show all 4Show fewer
- Poison and Drug Information Service (PADIS)
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Residents are the most senior residents on emergency, ICU/CCU and anesthesia rotations at a regional hospital.
- A month-long Transition to Practice rotation at year end covering department flow, teaching, billing and finances.
- Two ICU rotations: medical/surgical ICU at CRH and neuro/trauma ICU at Foothills.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (5.5 Blocks · CRH)
- Emergency Medicine (1 Block · Calgary)
- Transition to Practice (Emergency Medicine) (1 Block · CRH)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (1 Block · ACH)
- ICU/CCU (1 Block · CRH)
- ICU Neuro/Trauma (1 Block · FMH)
- Anesthesia (1 Block · CRH (2 weeks Adult and 2 weeks Peds))
- Toxicology (0.5 Block · Calgary PADIS)
- Elective (1 Block · Resident’s choice)
- Ortho, Plastics, Ophtho (2 Weeks · CRH - Longitudinal)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- IMG requirements
- “International medical graduates who are certified to practice family medicine in Canada”
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 2 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Chinook Regional Hospital (CRH) (Lethbridge)
- Foothills Medical Hospital (FMH) (Calgary)
- Alberta Children’s Hospital (ACH) (Calgary)
- Poison and Drug Information Service (PADIS) (Calgary)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Stephanie Brass
Site Director
Dr. Amanda Schreiner
Dr. Ronald Garnett
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- Emergency Medicine Lethbridge Program(opens in a new tab)
- Calgary Emergency Medicine(opens in a new tab)
- Calgar Emergency Medicine(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Lethbridge, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −6.0 °C
- July average
- 18.4 °C
- Snowfall
- 107.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 98,406 people
- Official languages
- English only 93.9% · French only 0.0% · English and French 5.2% · neither 0.9%
- Immigrants
- 15.0% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 6.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 91.6% · public transit 2.3% · walking or cycling 4.6% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Lethbridge, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.273
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.2%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,427 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.5%