London - Cardiac Surgery
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 6 years
- CMG
- Cardiac Surgery
- 0–50
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35539
Summary
- Western's six-year Cardiac Surgery residency trains residents mainly at University Hospital in London, Ontario, where about 1500 adult cardiac procedures are performed annually.
- PGY-1 and PGY-2 form part of Surgical Foundations, and PGY-3 is an enrichment year for academic, research, or clinical interests.
- Paediatric cardiac surgery is done at the Montreal Children's Hospital, and cath lab and senior vascular rotations are generally done in Windsor.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- University Hospital
- Victoria Hospital
- Montreal Children's Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Dedicated PGY-3 enrichment year for academic, research or clinical interests, with Master's enrolment encouraged.
- Paediatric cardiac surgery rotation done out of province at the Montreal Children's Hospital.
By year
- PGY-3
- enrichment year
- PGY-4
- Vascular Surgery
- Thoracic Surgery
- Cardiac Surgery
- PGY-5
- pediatric cardiac surgery
- adult Cardiac Surgery
Other rotations
- cardiac surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- thoracic surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- vascular surgery (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- cardiology, including echocardiography and cath lab (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- emergency medicine (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- anesthesia (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
- Chief resident in adult cardiac surgery (PGY-6)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 6 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
| PGY-6 | $104,167 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- University Hospital (London)
- Victoria Hospital (London)
- Montreal Children's Hospital (Montreal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Montreal Children's Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
For the other sites: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Lee Myers
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage