London - Family Medicine - Palliative Care
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Palliative Care
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34543
Summary
- This is a 12-month palliative care enhanced skills program at Western University made up of 13 block rotations.
- The program is distributed: residents train in London, Windsor and Sarnia, and they choose either a London or a Windsor stream.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- LHSC (Victoria campus)
- LHSC (University campus)
- Windsor hospice
Show all 7Show fewer
- Windsor oncology
- WRH consult service (Metropolitan Campus, Ouellette Campus, and HDGH PCU)
- Hotel Dieu Grace Palliative Care unit
- Sarnia
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Residents choose a London or a Windsor stream, and training is spread across London, Windsor and Sarnia.
- An 8-week integrated block in Sarnia ends the year, where residents work relatively independently.
- Residents act as junior attendings in the second half of the year and supervise and teach residents.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- LHSC (Victoria campus) (London Stream · 4 blocks · London)
- LHSC (University campus) (London Stream · 2 blocks · London)
- Windsor hospice (London Stream · 2 blocks · Windsor)
- Windsor oncology (London Stream · 1 block · Windsor)
- Sarnia (London Stream · 2 blocks · Sarnia)
- elective (London Stream · 2 blocks)
- paediatric palliative care selective (London Stream · 1 block)
- LHSC (Victoria campus) (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks · London)
- LHSC (University campus) (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks · London)
- Windsor Hospice (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks · Windsor)
- WRH consult service (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks · Metropolitan Campus, Ouellette Campus, and HDGH PCU)
- Windsor oncology (Windsor Stream · 1 block · Windsor)
- Sarnia (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks · Sarnia)
- elective (Windsor Stream · 2 blocks)
- paediatric palliative care selective (Windsor Stream · 1 block)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 18 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- LHSC (Victoria campus) (London)
- LHSC (University campus) (London)
- Windsor hospice (Windsor · rural or distributed site)
- Windsor oncology (Windsor · rural or distributed site)
- WRH consult service (Metropolitan Campus, Ouellette Campus, and HDGH PCU) (Windsor · rural or distributed site)
- Hotel Dieu Grace Palliative Care unit (Windsor · rural or distributed site)
- Sarnia (Sarnia · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Ms. Renee Vachon
Postgraduate Program Coordinator
Program directors
Dr. Tatiana Jevremovic
Dr. Patricia Valcke
Palliative Care Program Director
Dr. Kathleen Milne
Palliative Care Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%