London - Family Medicine
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioMOTP-MMTP stream
- 1 position
- 2 years
- MOTP-MMTP
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35935
Summary
- This is a 2-year family medicine residency in London, Ontario, training in urban and suburban community practices.
- Residents are assigned a home base at one of three family medical centres: Byron, Victoria, or St. Joseph's.
- The curriculum is block-based with horizontal experiences, and some rotations take place in regional centres.
Training
- Setting
- Urban community
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- Byron Family Medical Centre
- Victoria Family Medical Centre
- St. Joseph's Family Medical Centre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Highlights
- Shared mental health program with a psychiatrist and mental health nurse practitioner at most training sites.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20, 23 and 24 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Byron Family Medical Centre (London)
- Victoria Family Medical Centre (London)
- St. Joseph's Family Medical Centre (London)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 6 of 9 years.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Daniel Grushka
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- Top Family Med Sites in Ontario (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Former regional FM resident on hospitalist/ER focus and shifts
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage