London - Neurology
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neurology
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35368
Summary
- Western's Neurology residency is a 5-year program based mainly at University Hospital and Victoria Hospital of London Health Sciences Centre in London.
- Residents start a Resident Longitudinal Clinic in PGY-2 and complete a quality improvement project, with optional research blocks.
- In PGY-5, residents act as junior attending in the Urgent Neurology Clinic and inpatient service.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital
- London Health Sciences Centre, Victoria Hospital
- London Regional Cancer Program
Show all 4Show fewer
- St. Joseph's Health Care, Parkwood Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- PGY-5 residents serve as junior attending in the Urgent Neurology Clinic and inpatient service.
- Optional 'Bootcamp in Sustainable Quality' course with longitudinal coaching for resident QI projects.
By year
- PGY-1
- neurology home service1-2 introductory blocks
- internal medicine and its subspecialties
- neurosurgery
- emergency medicine
- psychiatry
- Urgent Neurology service
- PGY-2
- Neurocritical carea block
- medicine subspecialties
- physical medicine and rehabilitation
- palliative care
- sleep medicine
- Resident Longitudinal Clinic
- PGY-5
- Urgent Neurology Clinic
- inpatient service
Other rotations
- inpatient ward (PGY-3-4)
- emergency department (PGY-3-4)
- Urgent Neurology Clinic (PGY-3-4)
- subspecialty outpatient clinics (PGY-3-4)
- pediatric neurology (PGY-3-4)
- neuropathology (PGY-3-4)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 4 and 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital (London)
- London Health Sciences Centre, Victoria Hospital (London)
- London Regional Cancer Program (London)
- St. Joseph's Health Care, Parkwood Hospital (London)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Anita Florendo-Cumbermack
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage