London - Neuropathology
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neuropathology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35287
Summary
- Western's five-year Neuropathology residency is based in the centralized Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Department at London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital.
- Early stages include Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Neurology, Neurosurgery, Neuroradiology, Anatomical Pathology and Neuropathology rotations.
- A two-month Pediatric Neuropathology rotation at UBC or Toronto is mandatory, and up to 12 months are available for electives.
- Interviews are virtual.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital
- University of British Columbia
- University of Toronto
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project
- Highlights
- Mandatory two-month Pediatric Neuropathology rotation at UBC or University of Toronto.
- One of Canada's oldest neuropathology training programs, running since 1972.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Internal Medicine (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
- Pediatrics (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
- Neurology (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
- Neurosurgery (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
- Neuroradiology (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
- Anatomical Pathology (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
- Neuropathology (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
- Pediatric Neuropathology (core training · two-month · University of British Columbia or the University of Toronto)
- elective rotations (up to 12 months)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25, 26, 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital (London)
- University of British Columbia (Vancouver)
- University of Toronto (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 3 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2025 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Qi Zhang
Faculty profile of Dr. Qi Zhang(opens in a new tab)
I have a broad interest in basic neuroscience and neuropathological diseases. I am currently involved in 3 areas of research: epilepsy related neuropathological findings, brain metastasis from systemic malignancy and neurodegenerative diseases.
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage