London - Neurosurgery
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 6 years
- CMG
- Neurosurgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36517
Summary
- Western University's neurosurgery residency is a 6-year program based mainly at University Hospital in London, focused on adult neurosurgery.
- In PGY-3, residents rotate at Windsor Regional Hospital's Ouellette Campus and in Gamma Knife Radiosurgery at Toronto Western Hospital.
- PGY-4 is an elective year that can be used for research or clinical work, and PGY-6 is spent as chief resident.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- University Hospital (LHSC)
- Victoria and Children’s Hospital (LHSC)
- Ouellette Campus (Windsor Regional Hospital)
Show all 5Show fewer
- St. Joseph’s Healthcare London
- Toronto Western Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Required Gamma Knife stereotactic radiosurgery rotation at Toronto Western Hospital.
- Community neurosurgery rotation in Windsor with extra spine surgery exposure.
By year
- PGY-1
- neurosurgery6 months
- trauma surgery
- inpatient general neurology
- otolaryngology – head and neck Surgery/otology
- plastic surgery with a focus on peripheral nerve management
- neuroradiology
- neuropathology
- general internal medicine on the consult medicine service
- PGY-2
- critical care medicinethree-month block
- neurosurgical service
- Victoria and Children’s Hospital rotation
- PGY-3
- second rotation at the Victoria and Children’s Hospital
- mid-level resident
- community rotation
- Gamma Knife Radiosurgery
- neuropathology
- PGY-4
- elective year
- PGY-5
- senior neurosurgery residentsthe remainder of the year
- neuropathology, neuro-oncology, EMG, or the Epilepsy Monitoring Unit
Other rotations
- chief resident (PGY6 · University Hospital site)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
| PGY-6 | $104,167 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- University Hospital (LHSC) (London)
- Victoria and Children’s Hospital (LHSC) (London)
- Ouellette Campus (Windsor Regional Hospital) (Windsor)
- St. Joseph’s Healthcare London (London)
- Toronto Western Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Adrianna Ranger
Dr. Joseph Megyesi
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage