London - Nuclear Medicine
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Nuclear Medicine
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36024
Summary
- Western University's Nuclear Medicine program is a five-year, first-entry residency with one resident per PGY level.
- Residents train across three teaching hospitals in London: Victoria Hospital, University Hospital and St. Joseph's Hospital.
- PGY1 is a clinical year with nine rotations plus an anatomy rotation, followed by core Nuclear Medicine training with Diagnostic Radiology and electives in PGY2-5.
- Residents are expected to do research or scholarly work, with protected time.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- Victoria Hospital, London Health Sciences Centre
- University Hospital, London Health Sciences Centre
- St. Joseph’s Hospital, St. Joseph’s Health Care London
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Only English-language five-year first-entry Nuclear Medicine residency in Canada.
- Recognized as an SNMMI Radiopharmaceutical Therapy Center of Excellence with a high-volume radioligand therapy program.
- Access to a dedicated Molecular Imaging and Theranostics Clinical Research Unit.
By year
- PGY-1
- anatomy rotationfour-week
- General Surgery
- Adult and Pediatric Emergency Medicine
- Medical and Radiation Oncology
- Medicine CTU
- Cardiology
- Neurology
- Nephrology
- PGY-2
- general Nuclear Medicine
- PET/CT
- nuclear cardiology
- radiopharmacy
- radionuclide therapy
- PGY-5
- core Nuclear Medicine rotations
Other rotations
- Diagnostic Radiology rotations (PGY2-4 · two per year)
- optional elective rotation (PGY2-4)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 and 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Victoria Hospital, London Health Sciences Centre (London)
- University Hospital, London Health Sciences Centre (London)
- St. Joseph’s Hospital, St. Joseph’s Health Care London (London)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Duncan Sutherland
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage