London - Ophthalmology
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Ophthalmology
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36178
Summary
- Western University's ophthalmology residency is a 5-year program with a broadly based PGY-1 general year followed by four core years of integrated ophthalmology training.
- Most core training takes place at the Ivey Eye Institute at St. Joseph's Health Care in London, with neuro-ophthalmology at University Hospital and pediatric surgery at Victoria Hospital.
- Residents must take part in clinical or basic science research and may take up to 6 months of electives.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Ivey Eye Institute
- St. Joseph's Health Care
- University Hospital of the London Health Sciences Centre
Show all 4Show fewer
- Children's Hospital (Victoria Hospital)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- Up to 6 months of electives across the five years, including community, subspecialty or research electives.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Ivey Eye Institute (London)
- St. Joseph's Health Care (London)
- University Hospital of the London Health Sciences Centre (London)
- Children's Hospital (Victoria Hospital) (London)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Verena Juncal
Dr. Lulu Bursztyn
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage