London - Orthopedic Surgery
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Orthopedic Surgery
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36176
Summary
- Western University's Orthopaedic Surgery residency is a 5-year program based mainly at London Health Sciences Centre hospitals in London, Ontario.
- Residents complete a community orthopaedic rotation of 2 to 3 blocks in Year 2, and musculoskeletal oncology at Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto.
- Research is mandatory, with a three-block research rotation in Year 3.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- London Health Sciences Centre - University Hospital
- London Health Sciences Centre - Victoria Hospital
- Roth McFarlane Hand and Upper Limb Centre, St. Joseph's Health Care
Show all 5Show fewer
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Parkwood Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Musculoskeletal oncology training with the Sarcoma Unit at Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto.
- Protected three-block research rotation in third year.
By year
- PGY-1
- Orthopaedic Surgery10 Blocks
- ER Ortho Hybrid1 block
- Traumatology1 block
- Ambulatory General Internal Medicine1 block
- PGY-2
- Orthopaedic Surgery7 blocks
- Community Orthopaedic Surgery2 to 3 blocks
- Critical Care Trauma (CCTC)2 blocks
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation1 block
- Elective1 block
Other rotations
- elective (Year 3 to Year 5 · 2 block)
- Orthopaedic Oncology (Year 3 to Year 5 · 1 block)
- research rotation (3rd year · three-block)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- London Health Sciences Centre - University Hospital (London)
- London Health Sciences Centre - Victoria Hospital (London)
- Roth McFarlane Hand and Upper Limb Centre, St. Joseph's Health Care (London)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- Parkwood Hospital (London)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Ryan Degen
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- Ortho programs across Canada (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Medical student observership impressions of resident morale and learner welcome
- Can people comment on the culture of surgical programs at Western? (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Observer describes Western orthopedics department culture toward learners
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage