London - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36224
Summary
- Western University's five-year Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency is based at Parkwood Institute in London, Ontario.
- Training also uses London Health Sciences Centre sites and Thames Valley Children's Centre for pediatric rehabilitation.
- Residents must complete at least one scholarly project, and rural rotations are optional.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- St. Joseph 's Health Care London (SJHC) - Parkwood Site (Main Rehabilitation Inpatient Hospital)
- SJHC - Grosvenor (Main)
- London Health Sciences Centre (LHSC) - Victoria and University Hospitals
Show all 5Show fewer
- Children's Hospital - London Health Sciences Centre
- Thames Valley Children'S Centre (TVCC) (Pediatric rehab)
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Jointly run clinics with orthopedics and plastics give significant musculoskeletal surgical exposure.
- 14 full-time academic faculty for 8 residents.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Initial rotation on Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (Transition to Discipline · Parkwood Institute)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25 and 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- St. Joseph 's Health Care London (SJHC) - Parkwood Site (Main Rehabilitation Inpatient Hospital) (London)
- SJHC - Grosvenor (Main) (London)
- London Health Sciences Centre (LHSC) - Victoria and University Hospitals (London)
- Children's Hospital - London Health Sciences Centre (London)
- Thames Valley Children'S Centre (TVCC) (Pediatric rehab) (London)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Rachel Reardon
Steven Macaluso
Associate Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage