London - Urology
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Urology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36098
Summary
- Western University's urology residency is a 5-year program based at three academic hospitals in London, Ontario.
- Community exposure comes through distributed electives in Windsor, Sarnia, Woodstock and Stratford, with housing typically arranged and financed by the university.
- Residents can complete a Master of Science in Surgery in PGY1 or PGY2, and junior residents take call on a week-based night float system.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- St. Joseph’s Hospital
- University Hospital
- Victoria Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project
- Call
- In-house and home call · night float · frequency “1 in 3”
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Pediatric robotic urologic surgery; the page describes this as the only such centre in Canada.
- Every resident receives an annual travel grant of $1,500–$3,000.
- Robotic surgery available at all three hospital training sites, with annual robotic training lab at CSTAR.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 30 and 31 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Wed 28 Oct 20267:00–8:30 pm EST
Open house · Virtual
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- St. Joseph’s Hospital (London)
- University Hospital (London)
- Victoria Hospital (London)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Jennifer Bjazevic
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage