London - Vascular Surgery
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Vascular Surgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36423
Summary
- Western University's Vascular Surgery program is a five-year direct-entry residency that took its first residents in 2012.
- The first two years are core surgery, and the final three years are intermediate and senior vascular rotations.
- The clinical teaching unit is at one tertiary care hospital, and research is mandatory, with one project per year.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Main operating suite is a hybrid operating theatre with fusion imaging for endovascular work.
- Each resident completes and presents one research project per year, with funding for meeting abstracts.
By year
- PGY-3
- vascular surgery
- vascular laboratory
- electives
- research
Other rotations
- vascular surgery (PGY1 & PGY2)
- general surgery (PGY1 & PGY2)
- thoracic surgery (PGY1 & PGY2)
- cardiac surgery (PGY1 & PGY2)
- cardiology (PGY1 & PGY2)
- trauma (PGY1 & PGY2)
- emergency medicine (PGY1 & PGY2)
- intensive care (PGY1 & PGY2)
- interventional vascular radiology (PGY1 & PGY2)
- Elective (PGY1 & PGY2)
- research blocks (PGY1 & PGY2)
- vascular surgery (PGY4 & PGY5)
- interventional vascular radiology (PGY4 & PGY5)
- elective or research block (PGY4 & PGY5)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
Not stated on CaRMS page
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
“Please contact Alicia should you have any questions about the Vascular Surgery program” · the program’s heading on CaRMS
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Oonagh Scallan
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage