Miramichi - Family Medicine
Dalhousie UniversityMiramichi, New BrunswickCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 401–600
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35252
Summary
- This is a two-year Dalhousie family medicine program based in Miramichi, New Brunswick, a small city with a 146-bed hospital.
- Clinical training is delivered in a longitudinal integrated format, plus a 4-week obstetrics and gynecology block in Saint John.
- Residents must complete a scholarly project with protected time and typically work one-on-one with a preceptor.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Sites
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Palliative Care
- Care of the Elderly
- Other
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Longitudinal integrated curriculum rather than block rotations across most disciplines over two years.
- Free French language training is offered at the hospital.
By year
- PGY-1
- selectivesfour weeks
- PGY-2
- Electiveseight weeks
Other rotations
- Family medicine
- Emergency Medicine
- Internal Medicine
- General Surgery
- Orthopedic surgery
- Pediatrics
- Psychiatry
- Care of the Elderly
- Palliative Medicine
- Hospitalist (1-2 week)
- Obstetrics and Gynecology (1-2 week)
- Intensive Care (1-2 week)
- Obstetrics and Gynecology (4-week · Saint John, New Brunswick)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25, 26, 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 20267:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Thu 5 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Wed 2 Dec 20267:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Wed 2 Dec 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Sat 9 Jan 202712:00–2:00 pm AST
Social · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Sat 9 Jan 2027 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
Not stated on CaRMS page
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program Information
Program director
Dr. Sasha Sealy
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Miramichi Site
Dr. Roxanne MacKnight
Site Director
Tara Black
Site Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Miramichi, New Brunswick
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.8 °C
- July average
- 19.6 °C
- Snowfall
- 312.1 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 17,692 people
- Official languages
- English only 80.3% · French only 0.4% · English and French 19.3% · neither 0.1%
- Immigrants
- 3.7% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 93.8% · public transit 0.5% · walking or cycling 4.0% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $66,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Chatham - Douglastown, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.354
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- not published
- Basic cost of living
- $50,975 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage