Skip to content
CdnMD

Montérégie - Family Medicine

McGill UniversityMontérégie, QuebecRegular stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 9 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
Not yet posted on CaRMS
Length
2 years
Stream
Regular
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
35266

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • McGill's two-year family medicine program in Montérégie-Ouest trains residents at two university family medicine groups, GMF-U Jardins-Roussillon in Châteauguay and GMF-U Vaudreuil-Soulanges.
  • Training is in French, and all residents spend two months in a rural setting.
  • Residents must complete a critical appraisal or quality-of-care project, and those working from Vaudreuil-Soulanges must be able to travel by car.

Training

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Sites

13 teaching sites

  • Groupe de médecine familiale (GMF-U) Jardins- Roussillon
  • Groupe de médecine familiale (GMF-U ) de Vaudreuil-Soulanges
  • Hôpital Anna-Laberge
Show all 13
  • CLSC Châteauguay
  • CHSLD La Prairie (Soins palliatif)
  • CLSC Kateri / Hopital Kateri Memorial
  • CLSC Vaudreuil-Dorion
  • GMF Santé Ste-Angélique
  • GMF des Bâtisseurs
  • Hôpital du Suroît
  • Maison de soins palliatifs de Hudson
  • CHSLD Hôpital Sainte-Anne et CHSLD de Vaudreuil-Dorion
  • Hexa Physio Vaudreuil

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Palliative Care
  • Hospital Medicine
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Maternity and Newborn Care
Getting around
  • A car is required
Highlights
  • Optional 3–6 month intensive regional training block in second year at Shawville, Maniwaki, Wakefield or Val-d'Or.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Selection

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
28 and 29 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028.

Teaching sites

  • Groupe de médecine familiale (GMF-U) Jardins- Roussillon (Châteauguay)
  • Groupe de médecine familiale (GMF-U ) de Vaudreuil-Soulanges (Vaudreuil-Dorion)
  • Hôpital Anna-Laberge (Châteauguay)
  • CLSC Châteauguay (Châteauguay)
  • CHSLD La Prairie (Soins palliatif) (La Prairie)
  • CLSC Kateri / Hopital Kateri Memorial
  • CLSC Vaudreuil-Dorion (Vaudreuil-Dorion)
  • GMF Santé Ste-Angélique
  • GMF des Bâtisseurs
  • Hôpital du Suroît (Salaberry-de-Valleyfield)
  • Maison de soins palliatifs de Hudson (Hudson)
  • CHSLD Hôpital Sainte-Anne et CHSLD de Vaudreuil-Dorion
  • Hexa Physio Vaudreuil (Vaudreuil-Dorion)

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Hôpital Anna-Laberge

Matched to Hôpital Anna-Laberge (Châteauguay) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,664 · 2026–2027: 16,689 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 251 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 13 · neonatology 5 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital du Suroît

Matched to Hôpital du Suroît (Salaberry-de-Valleyfield) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,707 · 2026–2027: 18,278 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 182 · psychiatry 39 · geriatrics 16 · neonatology 4 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

enseignement.gmf-ujr.cisssmo16@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Mme Mélanie Carrière (GMF-U de Jardins- Roussillon) · Adjointe à l'enseignement universitaire de la résidence en médecine familiale

Program directors

  • Dr(e) Fanny Hersson-Edery

  • Dre Cynthia Veilleux (GMF-U de Jardins Roussillon)

    Directrice à l'éducation de la médecine familiale

  • Dre Virginie Dubuc (GMF-U de Vaudreuil-Soulanges)

    Directrice à l'éducation de la médecine de famille

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Montérégie, Quebec

Loading amenities…

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.