Montfort - Bilingual - Psychiatry
University of OttawaMontfort, OntarioCMG stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Psychiatry
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36290
Summary
- This 5-year University of Ottawa psychiatry stream places residents at Hôpital Montfort and The Ottawa Hospital.
- Rotations at Montfort are in French, those at partner sites are typically in English, and the francophone stream accepts three new residents per year.
- All residents complete a mandatory research project with protected time, and there is no mandatory rural rotation.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Hôpital Montfort
- Hôpital d'Ottawa - Campus Civic
- Hôpital d'Ottawa - Campus Général
Show all 6Show fewer
- Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario (CHEO)
- Hôpital Royal d'Ottawa
- QCH
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Francophone minority communities
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- French-language psychiatry training at Montfort, which presents itself as Ontario's only academic hospital training in French.
- Montfort psychiatry stops taking emergency department consults from 22:00.
- About a 1:1 faculty-to-resident ratio in Montfort's psychiatry department.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- psychiatrie (Progression vers la discipline · 2 stages)
- gériatrie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- médecine interne (unité d'enseignement clinique - UEC) (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- médecine familiale (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- urgence (adulte et pédiatrique (CHEO)) (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- soins palliatifs (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- neurologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- endocrinologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- services d'urgence psychiatrique (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- toximanie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- trouble du développement intellectuel/déficience intellectuelle (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- psychiatrie en milieu de ressources limitées (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- Psychiatrie générale de l’adulte en milieu hospitalier (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline/Maîtrise de la discipline · 6 blocs · Civic, Général, Montfort et ROH)
- Psychiatrie de l’enfant et de l’adolescent (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline/Maîtrise de la discipline · 5 blocs · CHEO)
- Psychiatrie générale de l’adulte en consultation externe (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline/Maîtrise de la discipline · 6 blocs · Civic, Général et Montfort)
- Gérontopsychiatrie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline/Maîtrise de la discipline · 5 blocs · ROH et Montfort)
- Maladie mentale grave et persistante (Maîtrise de la discipline · 6 blocs · ROH, Montfort et Général)
- Psychiatrie de consultation-liaison (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 blocs · Civic, Général et Montfort)
- Soins partagés (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 blocs · Civic, Général, QCH et Montfort)
- Psychothérapie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 8 mois · Tous les sites d’enseignement)
- stages facultatifs (Transition vers la pratique · 13 blocs)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28 and 29 Jan 2027; 1, 2, 4 and 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Tue 27 Oct 20266:00–8:00 pm EST
Info session · Virtual
Link for University of Ottawa, Tue 27 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Tue 3 Nov 20266:00–8:00 pm EST
Info session · Virtual
Link for University of Ottawa, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hôpital Montfort (Ottawa)
- Hôpital d'Ottawa - Campus Civic (Ottawa)
- Hôpital d'Ottawa - Campus Général (Ottawa)
- Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
- Hôpital Royal d'Ottawa (Ottawa)
- QCH (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Debbie Hall
Program Manager
Program director
Dr(e) Sephora Tang
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr Charles-Éric Lahaie
Directeur - site Montfort
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montfort, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage