Montfort - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
University of OttawaMontfort, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
Also at Ottawa, outside the CaRMS match: Emergency Medicine - outside-funded candidates, 12 months, for practising or certified family physicians. Applications: No dates published (as of 10 Oct 2026). See it ›: Emergency Medicine - outside-funded candidates, on the list of programs applied for at the school
- 1 position
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 34591
Summary
- The bilingual Montfort stream trains at Hôpital Montfort, The Ottawa Hospital and CHEO, with adult anesthesia and an ICU rotation done at Montfort.
- The year has 13 four-week blocks, including ultrasound training with certification and a required quality-improvement project or scientific session.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Hôpital Montfort
- L’Hôpital d’Ottawa
- Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’Est de l’Ontario (CHEO)
Show all 5Show fewer
- Institut de cardiologie
- Hôpital Général de l'Université d'Ottawa
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Francophone minority communities
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Bilingual stream with emergency shifts, adult anesthesia and ICU training at francophone Hôpital Montfort.
- Longitudinal pediatric emergency shifts at CHEO, where residents are the most senior resident in the acute care zone.
- Described as Canada's first one-year emergency medicine program, offered since 1979.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Médecine d'urgence pour adultes (Cinq blocs · Hôpital d’Ottawa (Montfort pour le résident bilingue))
- bloc combiné échographie / MU (1 bloc)
- Médecine d'urgence pédiatrique longitudinale (Hôpital pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario (CHEO))
- Médecine d'urgence communautaire (1 bloc)
- unité de soins intensifs chirurgicale (1 bloc)
- unité de soins intensifs médicale (1 bloc · L'Hôpital d'Ottawa (Montfort pour le résident bilingue))
- Soins cardiaques (USC) (1 bloc · Institut de cardiologie (ou à l’Hôpital Général de l'Université d'Ottawa))
- Anesthésie adulte (2 semaines · L'Hôpital d'Ottawa / Montfort (pour le résident bilingue))
- anesthésie pédiatrique (2 semaines · CHEO)
- Orthopédie (1 bloc)
- Stages au choix (2 blocs)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- IMG requirements
- “Pour les diplômés médicaux internationaux, il est obligatoire d’avoir passé l’examen EACMC, partie 1.”
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 4 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hôpital Montfort (Ottawa)
- L’Hôpital d’Ottawa (Ottawa)
- Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’Est de l’Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
- Institut de cardiologie (Ottawa)
- Hôpital Général de l'Université d'Ottawa (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr(e) Jennifer Leppard
Dr(e) Andrew Stiell
Assistant Program Director
Dr. Jen Leppard
Program director
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Benjamin Simard
Montfort Site Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Montfort, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%