Montreal - Cardiac Surgery
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 2 positions
- 6 years
- Regular
- Cardiac Surgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35881
Summary
- The Université de Montréal Cardiac Surgery program is a six-year Royal College-accredited residency delivered across multiple high-volume academic centres.
- Training sites include the Montreal Heart Institute, Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur-de-Montréal, CHU Sainte-Justine for pediatric cardiac surgery, and CHUM.
- PGY-5 includes dedicated blocks in endovascular therapy, TAVI, and ECMO/mechanical circulatory support/heart transplantation.
- Functional French proficiency is required.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Montreal Heart Institute (Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal – ICM)
- Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur-de-Montréal (CIUSSS du Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine
Show all 4Show fewer
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Dedicated PGY-5 rotations in TAVI and endovascular therapy, three blocks each.
By year
- PGY-1
- Cardiac Surgery4 blocks
- Cardiology – Coronary Care Unit2 blocks
- Intensive Care Unit2 blocks
- Trauma Surgery2 blocks
- Cardiac Anesthesia1 block
- Night Float1 block
- Surgical Foundations Boot Camp1 block
- PGY-2
- Cardiac Surgery5 blocks
- Cardiac Catheterization / Hemodynamics3 blocks
- Vascular Surgery3 blocks
- Electrophysiology and Arrhythmia1 block
- Intensive Care Night Float1 block
- PGY-3
- Cardiac Surgery8 blocks
- Thoracic Surgery3 blocks
- Transthoracic and Transesophageal Echocardiography2 blocks
- PGY-4
- Cardiac Surgery10 blocks
- Pediatric Cardiac Surgery3 blocks
- PGY-5
- Cardiac Surgery5 blocks
- Endovascular Therapy3 blocks
- Transcatheter Aortic Valve Implantation (TAVI)3 blocks
- ECMO, Mechanical Circulatory Support (VAD), and Heart Transplantation2 blocks
Other rotations
- Adult Cardiac Surgery (Postgraduate Year 6 (PGY-6) · 13 blocks)
- Interventional Radiology (Elective Rotations)
- Cardiac Surgery (Elective Rotations · Université Laval)
- Echocardiography (Elective Rotations)
- Cardiac Anesthesia (Elective Rotations)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18 Jan 2027
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
| PGY-6 | $89,131 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Montreal Heart Institute (Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal – ICM) (Montréal)
- Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur-de-Montréal (CIUSSS du Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal) (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM) (Montréal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Montreal Heart Institute (Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal – ICM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,656 · 2026–2027: 8,991
- Licensed beds
- physical health 153
Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur-de-Montréal (CIUSSS du Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Personne contact
latifa.El-Massaoudi@icm-mhi.org
Mme Latifa El Massaoudi · Secrétaire du programme d'entraînement en Chirurgie Cardiaque
Program director
Dr. Marina Ibrahim
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage