Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Chirurgie orthopédique

Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved date not on file

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
1 position
Length
5 years
Stream
Regular
Discipline
Chirurgie orthopédique
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%
Accreditation
Not stated on CaRMS page
CaRMS program ID
31008

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

The Université de Montréal Orthopedic Surgery Residency Program is renowned for its comprehensive clinical exposure across all subspecialties, high surgical volume, and exceptional teaching quality. The program is distinguished by its significant research activities and offers residents the opportunity to potentially complete a master's or PhD alongside their specialist training.

Training

Research
At least one research project required between R2-R4, with options to complete a master's or PhD during residency
Training setting
The residency takes place primarily across three sites: CHU Sainte-Justine, CIUSSS-de-l'Est-de-l'Île-de-Montréal, and CIUSSS-du-Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal, offering a diverse and comprehensive training environment in Montreal.
Teaching approach
The program is constantly adapted to residents' needs, focusing on competency-based medical education with progressive independence and exposure to various surgical specialties.
Setting types
  • Academic medical center
  • Pediatric hospital
  • Community hospital
  • Tertiary care center
Focus areas
  • Orthopedic Surgery
  • Pediatric Orthopedics
  • Trauma Surgery
  • Arthroplasty
  • Sports Medicine
  • Spine Surgery
  • Oncology
  • Hand and Wrist Surgery
  • Foot and Ankle Surgery
Patient populations
  • Pediatric patients
  • Adult trauma patients
  • Orthopedic oncology patients
  • Sports medicine patients
  • Community healthcare patients
Highlights
  • International clinical monitors (fellows)
  • Possibility of completing master's or PhD during residency
  • Research opportunities
  • Inter-provincial and international training options
  • Mandatory community stage placements
Strengths
  • Comprehensive clinical exposure
  • High surgical volume
  • Strong research infrastructure
  • Internationally recognized research impact
  • Collegial learning environment
Enhanced skills
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Sports Medicine
  • Research Training

By year

PGY-1
  • Pediatric Orthopedic Surgery5 periods
  • General Orthopedic Surgery4 periods
  • Traumatic Orthopedic Surgery3 periods
  • Arthroplasty3 periods
  • Initial Trauma Management2 periods
  • Sports Medicine2 periods
  • Boot-Camp Orthopedic Surgery1 period
  • Surgical Foundations Boot-Camp1 period
  • Vascular Surgery1 period
  • Night Stage / Surgery Consultations1 period
  • Adult Intensive Care1 period
  • Plastic Surgery1 period
  • Night Stage / Surgical Intensive Care1 period

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

What the program looks at
  • Pre-graduate performance
  • Medical studies performance
  • Clinical rotation evaluations
  • Surgical rotation evaluations
  • Orthopedic rotation evaluations
  • Research involvement
  • Motivation letter
  • Reference letters
  • Extracurricular activities
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028.

Teaching sites

  • CHU Sainte-Justine
  • CIUSSS-de-l'Est-de-l'Île-de-Montréal
  • CIUSSS-du-Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

CHU Sainte-Justine

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.

The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).

Location

Montreal, Quebec

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−9.2 °C Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away
July average
21.7 °C Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away
Snowfall
216.6 cm a year Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away
Days below −20 °C
12.0 days a year Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Montréal, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
1,762,949 people up 3.4% from 2016
Official languages
English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
33.4% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 6.0% · non-permanent residents: 7.5%
Indigenous identity
0.9% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9% Average commute: 28.4 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$63,600 before tax $56,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 3,675,219 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.030 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.9% October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$50,287 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Montréal, Québec, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
6.8% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.4 points. A survey estimate.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for specialists in surgery (NOC 31101) in the census metropolitan area of Montréal for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for specialists in surgery, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.