Montreal - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35351
Summary
- McGill's Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency is a 5-year program based at Montreal teaching hospitals including the MUHC-Glen site, Jewish General, St. Mary's and the Montreal Neurological Hospital.
- Training starts with a two-period Transition to Pathology lab walk-through, followed by a Foundation phase, about 2.5 years of Core and roughly 12 months of Transition to Practice.
- All residents complete a formal research project and may spend up to 6 periods in research.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- MUHC-GLEN site (Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal General Hospital and Montreal Children's Hospital)
- Jewish General Hospital
- St. Mary's Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- Montreal Neurological Hospital
- Laboratoire de sciences judiciaires et de médicine légale (Forensic Pathology)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Frozen section exposure begins in PGY-1.
- Formal training in quality assurance/quality control and laboratory management.
- Transition to Practice year can be modified into a 'mini-fellowship' for upcoming fellowships or community practice.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Transition to Pathology (Transition to Pathology · 2 rotation periods)
- Foundation of the Practice of Pathology (Foundation of the Practice of Pathology · 12 rotation periods)
- Core (Core · ~2.5 years)
- Cytology (Core · three rotations)
- Transition to Practice (Transition to Practice · ~ 12 months)
- Research (up to 6 periods)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 and 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- MUHC-GLEN site (Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal General Hospital and Montreal Children's Hospital) (Montreal)
- Jewish General Hospital (Montreal)
- St. Mary's Hospital (Montreal)
- Montreal Neurological Hospital (Montreal)
- Laboratoire de sciences judiciaires et de médicine légale (Forensic Pathology)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
MUHC-GLEN site (Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal General Hospital and Montreal Children's Hospital)
Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Jewish General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
- Licensed beds
- physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
St. Mary's Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Montreal Neurological Hospital
- Licensed beds
- physical health 90
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Baharak Khadang
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage