Montreal - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36058
Summary
- This is a 5-year diagnostic and molecular pathology residency at Université de Montréal, with rotations at CHUM, CHU Sainte-Justine and Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont.
- The first year includes clinical rotations in surgery, dermatology and gynecologic oncology, plus a one-period research block.
- Training includes exposure to digital pathology/artificial intelligence and molecular pathology.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- CHUM
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
Show all 5Show fewer
- Laboratoire de sciences judiciaires et de médecine légale
- Pierre-Boucher (CSSS)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Training includes exposure to digital pathology and artificial intelligence.
By year
- PGY-1
- Pathologie mammaire2 périodes
- Chirurgie oncologique1 période
- Dermatologie1 période
- Gynéco-oncologie1 période
- Stage de nuit en chirurgie1 période
- Stage de clinique au choix1 période
- Stage d’introduction en médecine de laboratoire1 période
- Pathologie médico-chirurgicale 11 période
- Recherche1 période
- Dermatopathologie1 période
- Thoracique1 période
- Congèle macro1 période
- PGY-2
- Autopsie2 périodes
- Génito-urinaire2 périodes
- GI-Hépato2 périodes
- Gynécopathologie2 périodes
- Cytopathologie2 périodes
- Hématopathologie1 période
- ORL1 période
- Stage en pathologie au choix1 période
- PGY-3
- Stages de surspécialités au choix3 périodes
- Biologie moléculaire2 périodes
- Introduction à la cytopathologie2 périodes consécutives
- Pathologie pédiatrique2 périodes consécutives
- Pathologie judiciaire1 période
- Pathologie thoracique et cardiovasculaire1 période
- Hématopathologie1 période
- Pathologie ORL1 période
- PGY-4
- Stages de surspécialité, niveau avancé au choix11 périodes
- Neuropathologie2 périodes
- GI-Hépato
- Génito-urinaire
- Gynécopathologie
- Pathologie ORL
- Pathologie thoracique et cardiovasculaire
- Hématopathologie
- Pathologie mammaire
- Dermatopathologie
- Cytopathologie
- Pathologie os et tissus mous
- Pathologie rénale
- Pathologie médicale et chirurgicale avancée
- Stage de révision
- Pathologie pédiatrique
- Recherche
- Stage hors-réseau
- Stage en région éloigné
- Pathologie judiciaire
- Stage ‘congés accumulés’
- PGY-5
- Stages de surspécialité, niveau avancé au choix11 périodes
- Transition à la pratique2 périodes consécutives obligatoires
- GI-Hépato
- Génito-urinaire
- Gynécopathologie
- Pathologie ORL
- Pathologie thoracique et cardiovasculaire
- Hématopathologie
- Pathologie mammaire
- Dermatopathologie
- Cytopathologie
- Pathologie os et tissus mous
- Pathologie rénale
- Pathologie médicale et chirurgicale avancée
- Pathologie pédiatrique
- Neuropathologie
- Recherche
- Stage hors-réseau
- Stage en région éloigné
- Pathologie judiciaire
- Transition à la pratique
- Stage ‘congés accumulés’
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- IMG requirements
- Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHUM
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Laboratoire de sciences judiciaires et de médecine légale
- Pierre-Boucher (CSSS)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Pierre-Boucher (CSSS)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 23,690 · 2026–2027: 24,579
- Licensed beds
- physical health 334 · psychiatry 35 · neonatology 15
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Personne contact
Program director
Dr(e) François Gougeon
Directeur du programme
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage