Montreal - Emergency Medicine
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35930
Summary
- This is a 5-year emergency medicine residency at Université de Montréal, training across Montreal hospitals including Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur, CHU Sainte-Justine and CHUM.
- Critical care training totals 5 months of intensive care, including 1 month of paediatric intensive care.
- Out-of-town rotations include trauma at Vancouver General Hospital and remote emergency medicine in Sept-Iles.
- Interviews are virtual multiple mini-interviews held on 5 February 2027.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- CHUM
Show all 9Show fewer
- Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSMM)
- Centre antipoison du Québec
- Hôtel-Dieu de Saint-Jérôme
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Vancouver General Hospital
- Centre hospitalier régional de Sept-Iles
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Out-of-province trauma rotation at Vancouver General Hospital.
- Integrated emergency medicine/ophthalmology rotation: 2 weeks in emergency and 2 weeks in ophthalmology.
- Toxicology rotation at the Centre Antipoison du Québec.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Cardiologie (1ère année)
- Compétences essentielles en médecine d'urgence (1ère année)
- Épidémiologie, enseignement, recherche (2 jours/sem)-urgence (1ère année)
- Médecine d'urgence adulte (1ère année · 6 périodes)
- Médecine d'urgence / ophtalmologie (1ère année)
- Médecine d'urgence pédiatrique (1ère année)
- Orthopédie pédiatrique (1ère année)
- Stage de nuit (1ère année)
- Anesthésie pédiatrique (2ème année)
- Échographie ciblée (2ème année)
- Épidémiologie, enseignement, recherche (2 jours/sem)-urgence (2ème année)
- Médecine d'urgence adulte (2ème année · 3 périodes)
- Médecine d'urgence pédiatrique (2ème année)
- Musculo-squelettique adulte (2ème année)
- Psychiatrie (2ème année)
- Soins intensifs médicaux / chirurgicaux (2ème année · 2 périodes)
- Stage à option (2ème année)
- Traumatologie (2ème année)
- Anesthésie (3ème année)
- Épidémiologie, enseignement, recherche (2 jours/sem)/urgence (3ème année · 2 périodes)
- Échographie pédiatrique (3ème année)
- Médecine d'urgence adulte (3ème année · 5 périodes)
- Obstétrique et gynécologie (3ème année)
- Stage à option (3ème année)
- Toxicologie (3ème année · Centre Antipoison du Québec)
- Traumatologie (3ème année · hors-Québec)
- Expertise particulière (4ème année · 2 périodes)
- Épidémiologie, enseignement, recherche (2 jours/sem)/urgence (4ème année · 1 période)
- Médecine d'urgence adulte (4ème année · 5 périodes)
- Médecine d'urgence en région éloignée (4ème année)
- Médecine d'urgence pédiatrique (4ème année)
- Stage à option (4ème année)
- Stage TTL (4ème année)
- Soins intensifs pédiatriques (hiver) (4ème année)
- Anesthésie (option) (5ème année)
- Expertise particulière (5ème année · 4 périodes)
- Échographie avancée (5ème année)
- Médecine d'urgence adulte (5ème année · 5 périodes)
- Médecine d'urgence pédiatrique (option) (5ème année)
- Psychiatrie (option) (5ème année)
- Soins intensifs (5ème année)
- Stage à option (5ème année)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- CHUM (Montréal)
- Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSMM) (Montréal)
- Centre antipoison du Québec (Québec)
- Hôtel-Dieu de Saint-Jérôme (Saint-Jérôme)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- Centre hospitalier régional de Sept-Iles (Sept-Iles · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Show facts for 4 more sitesShow fewer
Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSMM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 2,256 · 2026–2027: 2,194
- Licensed beds
- physical health 20 · psychiatry 267
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
Centre hospitalier régional de Sept-Iles
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,714 · 2026–2027: 8,620
- Licensed beds
- physical health 63 · psychiatry 18 · geriatrics 11
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr(e) Véronique Castonguay
Directrice du programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage