Montreal - Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecParticular stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Particular
- Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34641
Summary
- This 12-month addiction medicine enhanced-skills program is based at the addiction medicine service of the CHUM in Montréal.
- Eight weeks of research and scholarship are distributed through the clinical blocks, with residents supported in developing a project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal
- Centre de recherche du CHUM
- Centre d'amitié autochtone de Montréal
Show all 5Show fewer
- CLSC Hochelaga-Maisonneuve
- Relais-méthadone: Hôpital Notre-Dame
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Indigenous health
- Underserved urban
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Resident involvement in ECHO telementoring projects (hepatitis/harm reduction, concurrent disorders, chronic pain, Indigenous wellness).
- Community placement includes the Montreal Native Friendship Centre clinic.
- Residents may sit the ISAM certification examinations.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Blocs ambulatoires (9 semaines)
- Blocs hospitaliers (9 semaines)
- Blocs consultation-liaison (10 semaines)
- Bloc érudition (8 semaines · CRCHUM)
- Stage de psychiatrie des toxicomanies (4 semaines · CHUM)
- Stage communautaire en toxicomanie (4 semaines · CLSC-Hochelaga, Relais-Méthadone, Clinique du centre d'amitié autochtone de Montréal)
- Stage à option au sein du réseau de l'Université de Montréal (4 semaines)
- Stage à option hors réseau (4 semaines)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal)
- Centre de recherche du CHUM (Montréal)
- Centre d'amitié autochtone de Montréal (Montreal)
- CLSC Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (Montréal)
- Relais-méthadone: Hôpital Notre-Dame (Montréal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Relais-méthadone: Hôpital Notre-Dame
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,709 · 2026–2027: 15,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 38 · geriatrics 34
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr(e) Iskra Pirija
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%