Montreal - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecParticular stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
Also at Montréal, outside the CaRMS match: Programme de compétences avancées en soins aux personnes âgées (trois mois) (Care of the elderly, 3 months), for residents (PGY-2) and practising or certified family physicians. Applications: Date unclear on the school’s page (as of 10 Oct 2026). See it ›: Programme de compétences avancées en soins aux personnes âgées (trois mois), on the list of programs applied for at the school
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Particular
- Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34644
Summary
- Université de Montréal offers enhanced-skills training in care of the elderly lasting 12 months (advanced competence) or 3 months (perfectionnement).
- The main teaching site is the Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal, with rotations also at CHUM, Centre hospitalier de Verdun and the Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal.
- Residents keep a family-medicine continuity clinic one day every two weeks and learn the basics of bedside point-of-care ultrasound.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal (IUGM)
- CHUM (Centre hospitalier universitaire de Montréal)
- Centre hospitalier de Verdun
Show all 7Show fewer
- Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSSM)
- Hôpital Sacré Coeur de Montréal
- Centre d'hébergement Notre Dame de la Merci
- Hôpital Notre Dame
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- family_practice_continuity
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Offered · research project
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Bedside point-of-care ultrasound training to guide procedures in long-term care (CHSLD).
- Program offered as either a 12-month advanced competence or a 3-month perfectionnement option.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- UCDG (une période · CHUM Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal)
- Soins post-aïgus (une période · IUGM)
- URFI (une période · IUGM)
- Gérontopsychiatrie en milieu hospitalier (une période · IUGM)
- Soins de longue durée (une période · IUGM)
- Cliniques externes spécialisées (deux périodes · IUGM)
- Gérontopsychiatrie clinique (une période · Institut universitaire de santé mentale de Montréal)
- Consultations gériatriques (urgence et étage) (une période · Centre hospitalier de Verdun)
- Stages optionnels (4 stages de 4 semaines · Au choix (voir ci-bas))
- Stage longitudinal (13 périodes (une journée par deux semaines) · Prise en charge en cabinet OU CHSLD ET six visites à domicile)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 20 Oct 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal (IUGM) (Montréal)
- CHUM (Centre hospitalier universitaire de Montréal) (Montréal)
- Centre hospitalier de Verdun (Montréal)
- Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSSM) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Sacré Coeur de Montréal (Montréal)
- Centre d'hébergement Notre Dame de la Merci (Montréal)
- Hôpital Notre Dame (Montréal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal (IUGM)
- Licensed beds
- geriatrics 67
CHUM (Centre hospitalier universitaire de Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Centre hospitalier de Verdun
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 17,664 · 2026–2027: 18,044
- Licensed beds
- physical health 244
Show facts for 4 more sitesShow fewer
Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSSM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 2,256 · 2026–2027: 2,194
- Licensed beds
- physical health 20 · psychiatry 267
Hôpital Sacré Coeur de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Centre d'hébergement Notre Dame de la Merci
- Licensed beds
- geriatrics 18
Hôpital Notre Dame
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,709 · 2026–2027: 15,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 38 · geriatrics 34
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr(e) Diana Cruz Santiago
Directrice de programme
Other contacts
Myriam Sylvestre
membre du comité de sélection
Beatrice Gagnon
membre du comité de sélection
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%