Montreal - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecParticular stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Particular
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 34662
Summary
- This one-year French-language program trains family physicians in emergency medicine and leads to eligibility for the CCFP(EM) examination.
- The program includes a longitudinal point-of-care ultrasound program and requires residents to start by period 3 for an essential-skills block.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- Centre hospitalier de Shawinigan
Show all 10Show fewer
- Cité de la Santé de Laval
- Hôtel-Dieu de St-Jérôme
- Hôpital Pierre-Boucher
- Santa Cabrini
- Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal
- CHUM
- Centre anti-poison du Québec
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- A September essential-skills block with cadaver techniques, multiple simulations, and focused ultrasound courses at the start of training.
- The program pays for an advanced cadaver techniques session at Université de Sherbrooke and the focused ultrasound course.
- Each resident is assigned two educational coaches for personalized follow-up.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Urgence adulte (12 semaines · Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal (centre tertiaire de traumatologie))
- Urgence pédiatrique (4 semaines · CHU Sainte-Justine (centre tertiaire de pédiatrie))
- Urgence communautaire (4 semaines · Au choix : Centre hospitalier de Shawinigan, Cité de la Santé de Laval, Hôtel-Dieu de St-Jérôme, Hôpital Pierre-Boucher, ou autres milieux périphériques)
- Soins intensifs (8 semaines · Au choix : Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal, Santa Cabrini, Cité de la Santé de Laval)
- Stages d'expertise en soins d'urgence (2 au choix) (8 semaines)
- Stage de compétences essentielles en médecine d’urgence (4 semaines)
- Échographie ciblée en médecine d'urgence (4 semaines · Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal (orthopédie))
- Stage d'expertise en soins aigus (4 semaines · Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal)
- Stages optionnels (4 semaines)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 20 Oct 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- Centre hospitalier de Shawinigan (Shawinigan)
- Cité de la Santé de Laval (Laval)
- Hôtel-Dieu de St-Jérôme (Saint-Jérôme)
- Hôpital Pierre-Boucher
- Santa Cabrini (Montréal)
- Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal (Montréal)
- CHUM (Montréal)
- Centre anti-poison du Québec (Québec)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Centre hospitalier de Shawinigan
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 13,822 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 130 · psychiatry 24 · geriatrics 16 · neonatology 5
Show facts for 5 more sitesShow fewer
Cité de la Santé de Laval
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 35,279 · 2026–2027: 36,310
- Licensed beds
- physical health 438 · psychiatry 51
Hôpital Pierre-Boucher
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 23,690 · 2026–2027: 24,579
- Licensed beds
- physical health 334 · psychiatry 35 · neonatology 15
Santa Cabrini
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,441 · 2026–2027: 15,611
- Licensed beds
- physical health 305 · geriatrics 18
Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,656 · 2026–2027: 8,991
- Licensed beds
- physical health 153
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
nancy.constantineau.cnmtl@ssss.gouv.qc.ca
Nancy Constantineau · Adjointe à l'enseignement universitaire
Program director
Dr(e) Karen Leclerc-Gagné
Directrice de programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- Admission(opens in a new tab)
- Département de médecine de famille et de médecine d'urgence(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%