Montreal - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 8 positions
- 1 year
- Regular
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 34687
Summary
- This one-year emergency medicine enhanced-skills program prepares family physicians for the CAC exam.
- Rotations take place at Montreal hospitals including St. Mary's, the Jewish General, the Montreal Children's, the Montreal General and the Royal Victoria.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- McGill University Health Centre
- The Montreal General Hospital
- Royal Victoria Hospital
Show all 8Show fewer
- The Montreal Children's Hospital
- St. Mary's Hospital
- Jewish General Hospital
- Lakeshore General Hospital
- McGill Medical Simulation Centre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Offered · research or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- All residents have the opportunity to become certified as independent POCUS practitioners (IP status) by year end.
- Toxicology rotation at Royal Victoria Hospital with training alongside the Quebec Poison Control Centre.
- Dedicated Administration and Core Topics rotation focused on Emergency Department flow.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Family medicine clinics / continuity of care
- Adult Community Emergency Medicine (2 months · St. Mary’s Hospital)
- Adult Tertiary Emergency Medicine (1 months · SMBD – Jewish General Hospital)
- Adult Tertiary Emergency Medicine and POCUS (1 month · SMBD - Jewish General Hospital)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (2 months · Montreal Children’s Hospital (MUHC))
- Adult Community Intensive Care Medicine (1 month · St. Mary’s Hospital)
- Adult Tertiary Intensive Care Medicine (1 month · SMBD – Jewish General Hospital or MUHC)
- Emergency Medicine and Trauma (1 month · Montreal General Hospital (MUHC))
- Emergency Medicine and Toxicology (1 month · Royal Victoria Hospital)
- Administration/Core EM Topics Rotation (1 month · All sites)
- Musculosketal Rotation (2 weeks · Lakeshore Hospital)
- Anaesthesia (2 weeks · St. Mary’s Hospital)
- Electives (Up to 4 weeks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 13 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- McGill University Health Centre (Montreal)
- The Montreal General Hospital (Montreal)
- Royal Victoria Hospital (Montreal)
- The Montreal Children's Hospital (Montreal)
- St. Mary's Hospital (Montreal)
- Jewish General Hospital (Montreal)
- Lakeshore General Hospital
- McGill Medical Simulation Centre (Montreal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
McGill University Health Centre
Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
- Licensed beds
- physical health 56
Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal)
- Licensed beds
- physical health 90
Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
The Montreal General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Royal Victoria Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
Show facts for 4 more sitesShow fewer
The Montreal Children's Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
St. Mary's Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24
Jewish General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
- Licensed beds
- physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
Lakeshore General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,918 · 2026–2027: 15,905
- Licensed beds
- physical health 234 · psychiatry 31
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Andrew Reid
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%