Montreal - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Regular
- Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34617
Summary
- This one-year French-language enhanced-skills program in sport and exercise medicine is based at the Clinique de Médecine du Sport de l’Université de Montréal.
- Block rotations at Montréal sites including CHUM, Ste-Justine and INS Québec run alongside a longitudinal sport medicine placement.
- Residents complete a scholarly project supervised by an INS Québec researcher and train toward the CASEM sport medicine diploma exam.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Clinique de Médecine du Sport de l’Université de Montréal
- Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Institut National du Sport du Québec (INS Québec)
Show all 9Show fewer
- Clinique de Physiatrie et de Médecine du Sport de Montréal
- Hôpital Ste-Justine
- Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal et centre EPIC
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur
- Clinique de médecine familiale Dix-30 et clinique médicale Mieux-ëtre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Eight-week high-performance sport medicine rotation at the Institut National du Sport du Québec with Olympic and Paralympic athletes.
- Residents act as supervised team physician for a university team and an elite/national team all year.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Introduction à la médecine du sport et soins Interprofessionnels (P1 et P2 · 8 semaines · Clinique de Médecine du Sport de L’UdeM)
- Radiologie musculo-squelettique (P3 / P4 ou P7 ou P8 · 4 semaines · CHUM département radiologie)
- Orthopédie sportive (P3 ou P4 · 4 semaines · CHUM ou Hôpital Notre-Dame)
- Physiatrie et Habiletés Techniques (P5-P6 ou P3-P4 · 8 semaines · CHUM département de physiatrie)
- Médecine du sport et de performance et de haut niveau (P5-P67 ou P7-P8 · 8 semaines · Institut National du Sport du Québec (INS Québec))
- Médecine préventive et de l'exercice (P9 ou P10 · 4 semaines · Centre EPIC (centre de réadaptation cardio-vasculaire) de l'Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal)
- Pédiatrie et Santé des femmes (P9=P10 · 4 semaines · Hôpital Ste-Justine)
- Orthopédie sportive et chirurgie plastie de la main (P9, P10, P11 · 4 semaines · CHUM, Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont)
- Médecine du sport: Préparation à la pratique (enseignement, infiltration, érudition) (P12 ou P13 · Clinique de Médecine familiale Dix-30 et Clinique de Médecine du sport UdeM)
- Stage à option (P13 ou P7 · 4 semaines)
- Stage longitudinal en médecine du sport (étalé sur 13 mois · Clinique de Médecine du Sport de l’Université de Montréal)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 19 Oct 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Clinique de Médecine du Sport de l’Université de Montréal (Montréal)
- Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM) (Montréal)
- Institut National du Sport du Québec (INS Québec) (Montréal)
- Clinique de Physiatrie et de Médecine du Sport de Montréal (Montréal)
- Hôpital Ste-Justine (Montréal)
- Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal et centre EPIC (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur (Montréal)
- Clinique de médecine familiale Dix-30 et clinique médicale Mieux-ëtre
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Hôpital Ste-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal et centre EPIC
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,656 · 2026–2027: 8,991
- Licensed beds
- physical health 153
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Hôpital Sacré-Coeur
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
M. Jérémy Zunino · Technicien en coordination résidents médecine familiale et de compétences additionnelles
Program director
Dr(e) josée Rainville
Directrice du programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%