Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Family Medicine

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 9 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
Not yet posted on CaRMS
Length
2 years
Stream
Regular
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
36508

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • McGill's two-year Montreal family medicine program assigns residents through an internal mini-match to one of eight Montreal teaching sites.
  • An 8-week rural rotation is mandatory in PGY2, with optional rural experience of up to six additional months.
  • Instruction at the Montreal units is in English, but residents must be able to assess patients in French.
  • Every resident must complete a critical appraisal/quality assurance project.

Training

Setting
  • Urban community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Sites

19 teaching sites

  • CLSC Côte-des-Neiges
  • CLSC Metro
  • CLSC Parc- Extension
Show all 19
  • Herzl Family Practice Centre
  • St Mary's Family Medicine Centre
  • The Queen Elizabeth Health Centre
  • GMF-U Mednam Lachine
  • GMF-U Lakeshore
  • Jewish General Hospital
  • Montreal Children's Hospital
  • McGill University Health Centre
  • Montreal General Hospital
  • Royal Victoria Hospital
  • Lachine
  • Lasalle Hospitals
  • Shawville
  • Wakefield
  • Maniwaki
  • Val-d'Or
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
English and French
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Maternity and Newborn Care
  • Hospital Medicine
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed
Highlights
  • Post-match internal mini-match lets residents rank and be assigned among eight Montreal teaching sites.
  • Bilingual English/French patient care in Montreal, with French language courses provided to residents.
  • Required 8-week combined Procedural Skills / Family Medicine rotation.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • rural rotation (two-month)
  • Emergency (4 weeks)
  • Paediatric Ward (4 weeks)
  • Paediatric Ambulatory Care (4 weeks)
  • Paediatric ER (4 weeks)
  • Hospital (Ward) Medicine (4 weeks)
  • Obstetrics (4- 6 weeks site-dependent)
  • Care of the Elderly (4 weeks)
  • Palliative Care (4 weeks)
  • Mental Health / Family Medicine (12 weeks)
  • Emergency / Family Medicine (8 weeks)
  • Hospital (Ward) / Family Medicine (8 weeks)
  • Parent-Child (including Newborn Medicine) / Family Medicine (8 weeks)
  • Procedural Skills / Family Medicine (8 weeks)
  • elective rotations (4 weeks each)
  • selective rotations (4 weeks)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
26 and 28 Jan 2027; 1 and 3 Feb 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028.

Teaching sites

  • CLSC Côte-des-Neiges (Montreal)
  • CLSC Metro (Montreal)
  • CLSC Parc- Extension (Montreal)
  • Herzl Family Practice Centre (Montreal)
  • St Mary's Family Medicine Centre (Montreal)
  • The Queen Elizabeth Health Centre (Montreal)
  • GMF-U Mednam Lachine (Lachine)
  • GMF-U Lakeshore (Pointe Claire)
  • Jewish General Hospital (Montreal)
  • Montreal Children's Hospital (Montreal)
  • McGill University Health Centre (Montreal)
  • Montreal General Hospital (Montreal)
  • Royal Victoria Hospital (Montreal)
  • Lachine (Lachine)
  • Lasalle Hospitals (Lasalle)
  • Shawville (Shawville · rural or distributed site)
  • Wakefield (Wakefield · rural or distributed site)
  • Maniwaki (Maniwaki · rural or distributed site)
  • Val-d'Or (Val-d'Or · rural or distributed site)

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Jewish General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Montreal Children's Hospital

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.

McGill University Health Centre

This name covers 5 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 56 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal)
Licensed beds
physical health 90 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Show facts for 3 more sites

Montreal General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Royal Victoria Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.

Lasalle Hospitals

Matched to Hôpital de Lasalle (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 11,354 · 2026–2027: 11,415 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 110 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

Unfilled positions in past years

Open after round 1 in 1 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Montreal.

Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
20234 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202400
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

postgrad.fammed@mcgill.ca

Ms Alana Walsh-Ferland · Postgraduate Program Administrator

Program director

  • Dr. Fanny Hersson-Edery

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

More links

Links the program published on CaRMS · checked Oct 2026

Location

Montreal, Quebec

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−9.2 °C Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away
July average
21.7 °C Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away
Snowfall
216.6 cm a year Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away
Days below −20 °C
12.0 days a year Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Montréal, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
1,762,949 people up 3.4% from 2016
Official languages
English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
33.4% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 6.0% · non-permanent residents: 7.5%
Indigenous identity
0.9% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9% Average commute: 28.4 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$63,600 before tax $56,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 3,675,219 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.030 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.9% October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$50,287 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Montréal, Québec, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
6.8% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.4 points. A survey estimate.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the census metropolitan area of Montréal for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.