Montreal - General Surgery
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- General Surgery
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36480
Summary
- McGill's General Surgery program is a 5-year residency based at several Montreal teaching hospitals.
- Clinical training is bilingual in English and French.
- Selected residents can join a funded 1.5-year Surgical Scientist Program leading to a Master's degree.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Montreal General Hospital (MGH)
- Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH/Glen)
- Jewish General Hospital (JGH)
Show all 8Show fewer
- St. Mary’s Hospital (SMH)
- Montreal Children's Hospital (MCH/Glen)
- Centre Hospitalier Regional de Lanaudiere Joliette
- Gatineau
- Lakeshore General Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Funded 1.5-year Surgeon Scientist Program with thesis-based graduate degree, satisfying Royal College Clinician Investigator Program.
- Graduates are eligible for both Royal College and American Board of Surgery certification.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- general surgery (including transplant and hepatopancreatobiliary service) (Foundations to Discipline · 14 blocks)
- trauma (Foundations to Discipline · 2 blocks)
- vascular (Foundations to Discipline · 2 blocks)
- thoracic surgery (Foundations to Discipline · 1 block)
- critical care (Foundations to Discipline · 2 blocks)
- endoscopy (Foundations to Discipline · 2 blocks)
- pediatric surgery (Foundations to Discipline · 2 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 3 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Wed 3 Feb 2027time not stated
Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Montreal General Hospital (MGH) (Montreal)
- Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH/Glen) (Montreal)
- Jewish General Hospital (JGH) (Montreal)
- St. Mary’s Hospital (SMH) (Montreal)
- Montreal Children's Hospital (MCH/Glen) (Montreal)
- Centre Hospitalier Regional de Lanaudiere Joliette (Joliette · rural or distributed site)
- Gatineau (Gatineau · rural or distributed site)
- Lakeshore General Hospital
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Montreal General Hospital (MGH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH/Glen)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
Jewish General Hospital (JGH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
- Licensed beds
- physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
Show facts for 4 more sitesShow fewer
St. Mary’s Hospital (SMH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24
Montreal Children's Hospital (MCH/Glen)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Centre Hospitalier Regional de Lanaudiere Joliette
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,583 · 2026–2027: 30,764
- Licensed beds
- physical health 258 · psychiatry 51 · geriatrics 20
Lakeshore General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,918 · 2026–2027: 15,905
- Licensed beds
- physical health 234 · psychiatry 31
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Shared by Samantha Lamontagne · Program Administrator, Ian Letourneaux · Program Administrator and Sheila Muinga · Program Administrator
Program directors
Dr. Sender Liberman
Dr. M. Rousseau
APD
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage