Montreal - Neurology
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Neurology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36500
Summary
- This is a 5-year adult neurology residency based at the CHUM, with other training sites including Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont, Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur and CHU Sainte-Justine.
- R1 is spent in internal medicine and R2–R5 in neurology, including a required community neurology period in Granby or Trois-Rivières.
- A research or quality project is mandatory, with a required research month at the end of R2.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- CHUM
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
Show all 10Show fewer
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay-de-Montréal
- Institut de cardiologie de Montréal
- Institut neurologique de Montréal
- CSSS de Trois-Rivières
- CSSS de Chicoutimi
- CIUSSS de l'Estrie (Hôpital de Granby)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Describes itself as Quebec's largest adult neurology residency program.
- Up to 20% of residency (13 periods) can be reserved for research, with an MSc neuroscience option.
By year
- PGY-1
- spécialités de médecine interne8 périodes
- neurologie adulte3 périodes
- Médecine d'urgence
- Psychiatrie
- PGY-2
- neurologie adulte6 périodes
- disciplines connexes à la neurologie (neurochirurgie et neuroradiologie)2 périodes
- EEG2 périodes
- physiatrie1 période
- recherche1 période
- cliniques spécialisées1 période
- Clinique longitudinale du résidentune journée mensuelle à partir de P7
- PGY-3
- neurologie adulte3 périodes
- neuropédiatrie3 périodes
- périodes à option3 périodes
- neurologie vasculaire1 période
- cliniques externes spécialisées1 période
- soins palliatifs1 période
- EMG/clinique neuromusculaire1 période
- Clinique longitudinale du résidentune journée mensuelle
- PGY-4
- disciplines connexes à la neurologie (incluant 1 période de neuropathologie et 1 période de neuro-ophtalmologie)8 périodes
- neurologie adulte2 périodes
- cliniques externes spécialisées2 périodes
- neurologie vasculaire1 période
- Clinique longitudinale du résidentune journée mensuelle
- PGY-5
- stages optionnels9 périodes
- neurologie adulte2 périodes
- neurologie vasculaire1 période
- cliniques externes spécialisées1 période
- Clinique longitudinale du résidentune journée mensuelle
Other rotations
- Neuroradiologie* (2e période) (1 période · CHUM, HMR, HSCM)
- Neuropathologie* (2e période) (1 période · CHUM, HSJ)
- Neuropsychologie (1 période · CHUM, HMR)
- Soins intensifs neurologiques (1 période · CHUM, HSCM, Institut neurologique de Montréal)
- Neuropsychiatrie (1 période · CHUM)
- Neuro-oncologie (1 période · CHUM)
- Troubles du mouvement (1 période · CHUM, HSJ)
- Électrophysiologie clinique (1-9 périodes · CHUM, HMR, HSCM, HSJ)
- Stage en cliniques externes spécialisées (1- 6 périodes · CHUM, HMR, HSJ, HSCM)
- Pédagogie médicale (1 période · Université de Montréal)
- Stage de recherche (1- 12 périodes · CHUM, HMR, HSCM)
- Stage d'étude par cumul (1 période · Université de Montréal)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 28 and 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHUM (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur de Montréal (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay-de-Montréal (Montréal)
- Institut de cardiologie de Montréal (Montréal)
- Institut neurologique de Montréal (Montréal)
- CSSS de Trois-Rivières (Trois-Rivières · rural or distributed site)
- CSSS de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)
- CIUSSS de l'Estrie (Hôpital de Granby) (Granby · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Hôpital Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Show facts for 5 more sitesShow fewer
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay-de-Montréal
- Licensed beds
- physical health 99
Institut de cardiologie de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,656 · 2026–2027: 8,991
- Licensed beds
- physical health 153
Institut neurologique de Montréal
- Licensed beds
- physical health 90
CIUSSS de l'Estrie (Hôpital de Granby)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,690 · 2026–2027: 16,437
- Licensed beds
- physical health 112 · psychiatry 22 · geriatrics 16
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr(e) Antoine Duquette
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage