Montreal - Plastic Surgery
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- Regular
- Plastic Surgery
- 0–50
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35781
Summary
- McGill's 5-year plastic surgery program has two years of Surgical Foundations training followed by three dedicated years of plastic surgery.
- Training happens at Montreal teaching hospitals, including the Montreal General Hospital and Royal Victoria Hospital, as well as community hospital sites.
- Residents are encouraged to take time for a Master's or PhD, with competitive salary funding available through the Surgeon Scientist Program.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Montreal General Hospital
- Royal Victoria Hospital
- Montreal Children's Hospital
Show all 9Show fewer
- Shriners Hospital for Children
- Jewish General Hospital
- St-Mary's Hospital
- Lasalle Hospital
- Lachine Hospital
- Lakeshore Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Residents take part in the provincial replant program.
- A dedicated microsurgery lab rotation, plus a microsurgery dry lab open to residents at all times.
- Graduates are eligible to sit the American Board of Plastic Surgery exams.
By year
- PGY-1
- Plastic Surgery5 blocks
- General Surgery2 blocks
- SICU2 blocks
- Emergency Medicine1 block
- Neurosurgery1 block
- Pediatric Surgery1 block
- Vascular Surgery1 block
- Bootcamp (Surgical Foundations & Plastic Surgery; Transition to Discipline)First Rotation block (July)
- PGY-2
- Plastic Surgery7 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery2 blocks
- Anesthesiology1 block
- General Surgery1 block
- Microsurgery Lab1 block
- Oral Maxillofacial Surgery (OMFS)1 block
- Otolaryngology (Head and Neck)1 block
- PGY-3
- Plastic Surgery10 blocks
- Burn Unit2 blocks
- Oculoplasty1 block
- PGY-4
- Plastic Surgery12 blocks (includes 2 elective block)
- Aesthetic Surgery1 block
- PGY-5
- Plastic Surgery11 blocks (includes consolidation block)
- Aesthetic Surgery2 blocks
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Montreal General Hospital (Montreal)
- Royal Victoria Hospital (Montreal)
- Montreal Children's Hospital (Montreal)
- Shriners Hospital for Children (Montreal)
- Jewish General Hospital (Montreal)
- St-Mary's Hospital (Montreal)
- Lasalle Hospital (Montreal)
- Lachine Hospital (Montreal)
- Lakeshore Hospital (Montreal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Montreal General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Royal Victoria Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
Montreal Children's Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Show facts for 6 more sitesShow fewer
Shriners Hospital for Children
- Licensed beds
- physical health 22
Jewish General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
- Licensed beds
- physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
St-Mary's Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24
Lasalle Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 11,354 · 2026–2027: 11,415
- Licensed beds
- physical health 110
Lachine Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
- Licensed beds
- physical health 56
Lakeshore Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,918 · 2026–2027: 15,905
- Licensed beds
- physical health 234 · psychiatry 31
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Domenick (Dino) Zammit
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage