Montreal - Plastic Surgery
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Plastic Surgery
- 201–400
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36284
Summary
- The Université de Montréal plastic surgery residency is a 5-year, predominantly French-language program.
- Training takes place at four main university hospitals in Montreal, with about thirty faculty members.
- Rotations include 2 months on a burn unit, 4 months in pediatrics and 3 months in aesthetic clinics, and a 2-month research rotation is offered.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- CIUSSS de l’Est-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- CIUSSS du Nord-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
Show all 5Show fewer
- Centre Hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Four-year longitudinal rotation at the provincial replantation service (CEVARMU).
- Inter-university agreement: Sherbrooke residents do surgical foundations there, then 3 years of plastic surgery at UdeM.
By year
- PGY-1
- stage de chirurgie plastique4 périodes
- PGY-2
- stage de recherche2 mois
Other rotations
- unité de Grands-brûlés (2 mois)
- milieu pédiatrique (4 mois)
- cliniques d’esthétique (3 mois)
- chirurgie de la main/poignet
- chirurgie du sein
- chirurgie craniofaciale
- stage transversal (4 ans · service de Réimplantation Provincial CEVARMU)
- stage de plastie générale (4 mois · milieu communautaire)
- Stages à option (2 mois)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 201–400
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 2 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CIUSSS de l’Est-de-l’Île-de-Montréal (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- CIUSSS du Nord-de-l’Île-de-Montréal (Montréal)
- Centre Hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Centre Hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
christine.vaitekunas.hsj@ssss.gouv.qc.ca
Christine Vaitekunas · Adjointe à l'enseignement universitaire
Program director
Dr(e) Élie Boghossian
Directeur de programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage