Montreal - Public Health and Preventive Medicine
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Public Health and Preventive Medicine
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35563
Summary
- This five-year Public Health and Preventive Medicine program offers two pathways: a classic route with a two-year master's phase or an accelerated one-year master's.
- Clinical rotations take place mainly in Montréal hospitals, the master's at the École de santé publique, and public health rotations mainly at the Direction régionale de santé publique de Montréal.
- At least one four-week period in a rural region is mandatory.
Training
- Setting
- Public health agency
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Direction régionale de santé publique de Montréal
- CHUM
- hôpital Sacré-Coeur
Show all 10Show fewer
- hôpital Notre-Dame
- hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- centre mère-enfant Ste-Justine
- École de santé publique de l'Université de Montréal
- INSPQ
- INESSS
- MSSS
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Indigenous health
- Research
- Offered · research project
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Accelerated pathway completes the master's in public health in four full-time terms, leaving more elective time.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- médecine de famille (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
- pédiatrie (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
- médecine du travail (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
- psychiatrie (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
- infectiologie (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
- médecine interne (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
- cardiologie préventive (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
- 3 stages à option cliniques (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
- Maîtrise en santé publique (Option #1 - Phase académique (R2-R3) · 21 périodes · École de santé publique de l'Université de Montréal)
- maladies transmissibles (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
- santé environnementale (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
- surveillance (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
- santé au travail (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
- promotion- prévention (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
- gestion-planification (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
- santé des autochtones (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
- stages d'intégration (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
- stages à option (cliniques, recherche ou santé publique) (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
- médecine de famille (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
- pédiatrie (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
- médecine du travail (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
- psychiatrie (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
- infectiologie (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
- médecine interne (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
- cardiologie préventive (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
- stages à option cliniques (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
- Maîtrise en santé publique (Option #2 - Phase académique (R2 et début R3) · 13 périodes · École de santé publique de l'Université de Montréal)
- maladies transmissibles (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
- santé environnementale (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
- surveillance (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
- santé au travail (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
- promotion- prévention (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
- gestion-planification (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
- santé des autochtones (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
- stages d'intégration (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
- stages à option (cliniques ou santé publique) (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Direction régionale de santé publique de Montréal (Montréal)
- CHUM (Montréal)
- hôpital Sacré-Coeur (Montréal)
- hôpital Notre-Dame (Montréal)
- hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
- centre mère-enfant Ste-Justine (Montréal)
- École de santé publique de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal)
- INSPQ
- INESSS
- MSSS
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
hôpital Sacré-Coeur
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
hôpital Notre-Dame
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,709 · 2026–2027: 15,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 38 · geriatrics 34
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 2 positions open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr(e) Frédérique Brouillard
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage