Montreal - Public Health and Preventive Medicine
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Public Health and Preventive Medicine
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36008
Summary
- McGill's five-year Public Health and Preventive Medicine program has three phases: clinical training, an MSc in Epidemiology, and public health practice rotations.
- Residents can choose to complete Family Medicine (CFPC) training during the clinical phase.
- Practice rotations are based at Montreal Public Health and regional public health units across Quebec, including the Cree Territory and Nunavik.
Training
- Setting
- Public health agency
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
12 teaching sites
- Montreal Public Health
- McGill University Health Center (MUHC)
- School of Population and Global Health (SPGH)
Show all 12Show fewer
- GMFU Gatineau
- Laval
- Montérégie
- Abitibi- Témiscamingue
- Outaouais
- Cree Territory in James Bay
- Nunavik region
- Quebec P ublic Health Institute (INPSQ)
- Ministry of Health (MSSS)
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Indigenous health
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Optional integrated CCFP family medicine certification pathway within the PHPM residency.
- Program-wide trauma-informed approach to medical education and residency structure.
- Thesis-based MSc in Epidemiology built into residency, with tuition waived for residents in the intensive program.
By year
- PGY-5
- Concentration year
Other rotations
- Transition to Discipline (two- period)
- Family Medicine rotations (Phase 1 · 6 months)
- electives (Phase 1 · 5 months)
- Surveillance (Senior rotations · 2 periods)
- Infectious diseases (Senior rotations · 2-3 periods)
- Indigenous Health (Senior rotations · 2 periods)
- Environmental health (Senior rotations · 2-3 periods)
- Occupational health (Senior rotations · 2 periods)
- Health promotion & disease prevention (Senior rotations · 2-3 periods)
- Management and planning (Senior rotations · 2-3 periods)
- Integration (Senior rotations · 6 periods)
- Electives (Senior rotations · 3-5 periods)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Montreal Public Health (Montreal)
- McGill University Health Center (MUHC) (Montreal)
- School of Population and Global Health (SPGH) (Montreal)
- GMFU Gatineau (Gatineau · rural or distributed site)
- Laval (rural or distributed site)
- Montérégie (rural or distributed site)
- Abitibi- Témiscamingue (rural or distributed site)
- Outaouais (rural or distributed site)
- Cree Territory in James Bay (rural or distributed site)
- Nunavik region (rural or distributed site)
- Quebec P ublic Health Institute (INPSQ)
- Ministry of Health (MSSS)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
McGill University Health Center (MUHC)
Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
- Licensed beds
- physical health 56
Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal)
- Licensed beds
- physical health 90
Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. David Kaiser
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage