Montreal - Vascular Surgery
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- Regular
- Vascular Surgery
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36487
Summary
- McGill's Vascular Surgery residency is a 5-year program based primarily at the McGill University Health Centre and the Jewish General Hospital in Montreal.
- The first 2 years form a foundational period, and the final 3 years comprise senior rotations plus elective or research rotations.
- Trauma experience takes place at the Montreal General Hospital, and residents may pursue M.Sc. or Ph.D. training during residency.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- McGill University Health Centre (MUHC)
- Jewish General Hospital (JGH)
- Montreal General Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Dedicated non-invasive vascular laboratory rotations at both main sites, supervised by vascular surgeons.
- A full-time research coordinator supports resident research.
By year
- PGY-1
- Vascular Surgery5 periods
- General Surgery4 periods
- Cardiac Surgery2 periods
- Surgical Foundation Bootcamp1 period
- Cardiology Consult Service1 Period
- PGY-2
- Vascular Surgery6 periods
- Critical Care2 periods
- Thoracic Surgery2 periods
- Trauma Surgery1 periods
- Non invasive Vascular Lab1 periods
- Internal Medicine Pre operative Consult Service1 period
- PGY-3
- Vascular Surgery4 periods
- General Surgery / Transplantation2 periods
- Cardiac Surgery2 periods
- Surgery Elective (Vascular, Thoracic, Hepatobiliary, Colorectal, Cardiac)2 periods
- Interventional Radiology2 periods
- Venous Disease1 period
- PGY-4
- Vascular Surgery6 periods
- Interventional Radiology3 periods
- Vascular Surgery Elective or research2 periods
- Non invasive Vascular Lab2 periods
- PGY-5
- Vascular Surgery10 periods
- Vascular Surgery Elective or research3 periods
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) (Montreal)
- Jewish General Hospital (JGH) (Montreal)
- Montreal General Hospital (Montreal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
McGill University Health Centre (MUHC)
Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
- Licensed beds
- physical health 56
Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal)
- Licensed beds
- physical health 90
Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Jewish General Hospital (JGH)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
- Licensed beds
- physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
Montreal General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
vascularresidency.med@mcgill.ca
Shared by Kathy Roussis · Program Coordinator and Julia Boyko · Program Coordinator
Program director
Dr. Elie Girsowicz
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage