Montreal - Vascular Surgery
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Vascular Surgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36507
Summary
- The Université de Montréal vascular surgery program is a 5-year residency accepting 2 new residents.
- The first year covers surgical foundations including vascular surgery, intensive care and trauma, and residents later complete a community-setting rotation.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
Show all 5Show fewer
- Hôpital Cité de la Santé de Laval
- Centre hospitalier de Trois-Rivières
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Annual dissection workshop with faculty reviewing open and endovascular exposures and approaches.
- Access to a hybrid operating room with fusion imaging.
By year
- PGY-1
- chirurgie vasculaire3 périodes
- boot camp1 période
- soins intensifs1 période
- trauma1 période
- mini boot camp
- PGY-2
- chirurgie vasculaire6 périodes
- laboratoire vasculaire1 période
Other rotations
- chirurgie vasculaire et endovasculaire (Les trois dernières années)
- stage dans un des milieux communautaires (Les trois dernières années)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
- Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal (Montréal)
- Hôpital Cité de la Santé de Laval (Laval)
- Centre hospitalier de Trois-Rivières (Trois-Rivières)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Cité de la Santé de Laval
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 35,279 · 2026–2027: 36,310
- Licensed beds
- physical health 438 · psychiatry 51
Centre hospitalier de Trois-Rivières
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 24,070 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 432 · psychiatry 29 · neonatology 12
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
marie-andree.bedard.chum@ssss.gouv.qc.ca
Marie-Andrée Bédard · Adjointe à l'enseignement universitaire du programme
Program director
Dr(e) William Fortin
Directeur de programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage