Niagara - General Surgery
McMaster UniversityNiagara, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- General Surgery
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36388
Summary
- The Niagara General Surgery program is a direct-entry branch of McMaster's General Surgery program, with most clinical training at a community site.
- It matches one resident per year, and Niagara Health - Marotta Family Hospital is the main teaching site.
- The program lasts 5 years, includes rotations in Hamilton such as pediatric surgery, and requires at least two research projects.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Niagara Health - Marotta Family Hospital
- Welland Hospital
- Greater Niagara Hospital
Show all 7Show fewer
- The McMaster site, Hamilton Health Sciences
- The General site, Hamilton Health Sciences
- The Juravinski site of the Hamilton Health Sciences
- St. Joseph's Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Single-resident-per-year general surgery stream based mainly in a community hospital, not a tertiary centre.
- Residents design their PGY3/4 rotation schedule with the Regional Education Lead around their career goals.
By year
- PGY-1
- General Surgery8 Blocks
- Pediatric Surgery2 Blocks
- Rookie Camp1 Block
- Internal Medicine1 Block
- Selective (ER or Internal Medicine)1 Block
- PGY-2
- General Surgery5 Blocks
- ICU3 Blocks
- Endoscopy3 Blocks
- General Surgery/Trauma2 Blocks
- PGY-3
- General Surgery with elective time and exposure to subspecialty rotationsVariable blocks
- PGY-4
- Chief Residency14 Blocks
- Transition to Practice2 Blocks
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 and 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Thu 12 Nov 20268:00 pm EST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for McMaster University, Thu 12 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Niagara Health - Marotta Family Hospital
- Welland Hospital (Welland)
- Greater Niagara Hospital
- The McMaster site, Hamilton Health Sciences (Hamilton)
- The General site, Hamilton Health Sciences (Hamilton)
- The Juravinski site of the Hamilton Health Sciences (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Hospital (Hamilton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Katie Niblock
Program Coordinator, McMaster
Program director
Dr. Ilun Yang
Program Director, McMaster
Other contacts
Dr. Ryan Fielding
Residency Educational Leader, Niagara
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Niagara, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.3 °C
- July average
- 22.2 °C
- Snowfall
- 141.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 136,803 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.4% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.5% · neither 1.0%
- Immigrants
- 19.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 90.1% · public transit 3.0% · walking or cycling 4.9% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $72,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- St. Catharines - Niagara Falls, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.096
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.7%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage