Northern - Emergency Medicine
University of British ColumbiaNorthern, British ColumbiaCMG streamNew for 2027
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36949
Summary
- This is the new Northern (Prince George) site of the UBC Emergency Medicine residency, a 5-year program.
- Training is based at the University Hospital of Northern British Columbia, a Level III Trauma Centre and regional referral centre for Northern BC.
- Residents can train at other BC sites, with up to 2-3 blocks per year of accommodation and travel covered.
- Interviews are held jointly for all five UBC sites by online video.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Kelowna General Hospital (KGH)
Show all 9Show fewer
- Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Victoria General Hospital (VicGH)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH)
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- British Columbia Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Northern
- Indigenous health
- Early independence
- Small program
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Newly launched Northern BC site where first residents help shape program culture.
- Accommodation and travel covered for up to 2-3 blocks per year at other BC sites.
- Local pre-hospital and transport medicine experience, including ground and air.
By year
- PGY-1
- dedicated ultrasound block
- PGY-2
- NERD (Novel Education in Research Design)block-length
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 3 and 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia (Prince George)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Kelowna General Hospital (KGH) (Kelowna)
- Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Victoria General Hospital (VicGH)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH)
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- British Columbia Children's Hospital (BCCH)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Kelowna General Hospital (KGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Show facts for 6 more sitesShow fewer
Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Victoria General Hospital (VicGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
British Columbia Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Tina Yokota
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Northern, British Columbia
Also trains in: Vancouver