Skip to content
CdnMD

NOSM Stream - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Queen’s UniversityNOSM Stream, OntarioCMG streamNew for 2027

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 27 Aug 2026

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
Not yet posted on CaRMS
Length
5 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
36964

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This is a new five-year Queen's University PM&R stream run in collaboration with NOSM University, with one position in Thunder Bay.
  • Most training occurs in Thunder Bay, with required rotations in Kingston and a few mandatory rotations in Ottawa.
  • Residents must complete a scholarly project and a QI project, and the program has a focus on EMG training.

Training

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Sites

9 teaching sites

  • Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC)
  • St. Joseph’s Hospital
  • Providence Care Hospital
Show all 9
  • Kingston General Hospital
  • Hotel Dieu Hospital
  • Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
  • The Ottawa Hospital Rehabilitation Centre
  • University of Ottawa Heart Institute
  • Toronto Rumsey Centre

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Small program
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Highlights
  • Most PM&R training is based in Thunder Bay, Northern Ontario, and focuses on community-based physiatry.
  • One resident is admitted every two years.
  • EMG training is enough to meet the CSCN EMG examination requirement.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Community Physiatry ((2))
  • Internal Medicine ((4))
  • Geriatrics ((1))
  • Surgery ((2))
  • Selective ((2))
  • Community Physiatry ((3))
  • Physiatry - Kingston ((2) · Kingston)
  • Neurology ((2))
  • Rheumatology ((1))
  • Orthopedic Surgery ((2))
  • Community Physiatry ((13))
  • Physiatry - Kingston ((4) · Kingston)
  • Acquired Brain Injury ((1))
  • Spinal Cord Injury ((1))
  • Stroke ((1))
  • Musculoskeletal ((1))
  • EMG ((2) · Kingston)
  • Pediatric Rehab ((1) · Ottawa)
  • Pediatric Rehab ((2) · Kingston)
  • Cardiac and/or Respiratory Rehab ((1) · Kingston or Thunder Bay)
  • Prosthetics and Orthotics ((1) · Ottawa)
  • Consolidation ((4))
  • Research ((3))
  • Electives ((3))

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
20 and 21 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC) (Thunder Bay)
  • St. Joseph’s Hospital (Thunder Bay)
  • Providence Care Hospital (Kingston)
  • Kingston General Hospital (Kingston)
  • Hotel Dieu Hospital (Kingston)
  • Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
  • The Ottawa Hospital Rehabilitation Centre (Ottawa)
  • University of Ottawa Heart Institute (Ottawa)
  • Toronto Rumsey Centre (Toronto)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

k.cats@queensu.ca

Kaitlyn Cats · Program Administrator

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

NOSM Stream, Ontario

Also trains in: Kingston, Ottawa

Loading amenities…

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.