Ottawa - Anesthesiology
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Anesthesiology
- 201–400
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35800
Summary
- This is a 5-year anesthesiology residency at the University of Ottawa, structured in four competency-based stages.
- Training takes place at the Ottawa Hospital campuses, CHEO and the University of Ottawa Heart Institute, with community rotations at Queensway Carleton and Montfort hospitals.
- Foundations begins with a simulation-heavy anesthesia boot camp, and Core uses a spiral curriculum with junior and senior sub-specialty rotations.
- Matched IMGs must complete the Pre-Residency Program and sign an Ontario return-of-service contract.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital, General Campus
- Ottawa Hospital, Civic Campus
- Ottawa Hospital, Riverside Campus
Show all 7Show fewer
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- University of Ottawa Heart Institute
- Queensway Carleton Hospital
- Montfort Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Highlights
- First centre in Canada with a formal perioperative echocardiography program.
- First program to launch a competency-based anesthesia curriculum, in July 2015.
- Includes a Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Unit and a model Pre-Admission Unit.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- general orientation and exposure to the operating rooms, acute pain service and pre-admission unit (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
- Anesthesia Bootcamp (Foundations)
- general OR setting (Foundations)
- Pre-Anesthesia Unit (PAU) (Foundations)
- Acute Pain Service (Foundations)
- Trauma (Foundations)
- ICU (Foundations)
- Emergency (Foundations)
- Pediatric ER (Foundations)
- Ambulatory Anesthesia (Foundations)
- Respirology (Foundations)
- Cardiology (Foundations)
- Obstetrical unit (Foundations)
- Chronic pain (Core)
- vascular anesthesia (Core)
- regional anesthesia (Core)
- obstetrical anesthesia (Core)
- thoracic anesthesia (Core)
- neuro anesthesia (Core)
- cardiac anesthesia (Core)
- Transition to Practice (Transition to Practice · 6 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Recent clinical experience (within 3 years)
- “Only candidates that have demonstrated exposure to anesthesia will be considered, for example; having completed electives in a n es th es iolog y, and/or advanced training etc.”
- “At least one reference letter must be from an anesthesiologist.”
- Applications per year
- 201–400
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18 and 19 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital, General Campus (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Hospital, Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Hospital, Riverside Campus (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
- University of Ottawa Heart Institute (Ottawa)
- Queensway Carleton Hospital (Ottawa)
- Montfort Hospital (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Danielle Ninclaus
Program Administrator
Program director
Dr. Asadollah Mir ghassemi
Faculty profile of Dr. Asadollah Mir ghassemi(opens in a new tab)
Medical Education; Health Care Quality and Patient Safety; Vascular Anesthesia; Point-Of-Care Ultrasound
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage