Ottawa - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35829
Summary
- The University of Ottawa offers a 5-year Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency divided into four Competency by Design stages.
- Most anatomical pathology training is at The Ottawa Hospital General Campus, with cardiac and neuropathology at the Civic Campus.
- Rotations follow a 13-block calendar, and the PGY5 year is mostly electives or selectives.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital-General Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital-Civic Campus
- Riverside
Show all 7Show fewer
- University of Ottawa Heart Institute
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Ottawa Regional Cancer Centre
- Dynacare Private Laboratory
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Annual off-site Pathology Retreat focused on resident well-being, leadership, communication and collaboration.
- Digital pathology has been adopted within the training program.
- Residents write the ASCP Resident-In-Service Exam (RISE) every year.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18, 19, 20, 21 and 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital-General Campus (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital-Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- Riverside (Ottawa)
- University of Ottawa Heart Institute (Ottawa)
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Regional Cancer Centre (Ottawa)
- Dynacare Private Laboratory
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program Admin: Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
Program director
Program Director
Dr. Kevin Hogan
Program Director, Program Admin: Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage