Ottawa - Emergency Medicine
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 9 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 29670
Summary
The University of Ottawa's RCPSC Emergency Medicine Residency is designed to graduate clinicians with excellent clinical skills while providing trainees opportunities to foster their own interests within emergency medicine. The program boasts over 90 emergency staff physicians dedicated to resident training, with a strong focus on supporting residents academically, personally, and professionally.
Training
- Research
- All residents are expected to produce a research or educational project, with support from research faculty. Many residents present work at national/international conferences and publish in peer-reviewed journals.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple urban hospital sites in Ottawa, including the Ottawa Hospital General Campus, Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus, and the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO).
- Teaching approach
- The program follows the Royal College's Competence by Design (CBD) curriculum, emphasizing progressive competence development through four stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations, Core, and Transition to Practice.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Urban hospital
- Pediatric hospital
- Focus areas
- Emergency Medicine
- Clinical Skills Development
- Leadership Training
- Patient Advocacy
- Equity and Diversity
- Patient populations
- Adult Emergency Patients
- Pediatric Emergency Patients
- Trauma Patients
- Critical Care Patients
- Highlights
- Competence by Design (CBD) Curriculum
- Weekly Protected Academic Full Day
- State-of-the-art Simulation Centre
- Six-month Area of Concentrated Expertise (ACE)
- Research and Scholarly Project Requirement
- Funding for ACLS, ATLS, and PALS Courses
- Conference Presentation Support
- Strengths
- World-renowned emergency medicine scholarship
- Diverse and expert faculty
- Comprehensive training across multiple sites
- Strong research infrastructure
- Commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion
- Enhanced skills
- Critical Care
- Prehospital and Transport Medicine
- Point of Care Ultrasonography
- Simulation Education
- Toxicology
- Pain Medicine
- Palliative Care
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine
By year
- PGY-1
- Internal Medicine2 blocks
- General Surgery1 block
- Orthopaedics1 block
- Adult Emergency MedicineBlocks not specified
- Pediatric Emergency MedicineBlocks not specified
- PGY-2
- Anesthesia2 blocks
- Psychiatry1 block
- Obstetrics/Gynaecology1 block
- Neurology1 block
- PGY-3
- Adult ICU3 blocks
- Electives3 blocks
- Cardiology/CCU2 blocks
- Elective Critical Care1 block
- Trauma1 block
- Toxicology1 block
Selection
- What the program looks at
- CV Review
- Electives Review
- Extra-curricular Activities
- Leadership Skills
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal Letter
- Reference Documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 23 Jan 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital - General Campus
- Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage