Ottawa - Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 1 position
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34642
Summary
- This 12-month PGY-3 program trains residents to manage substance use disorders in community, outpatient and inpatient settings, leading to eligibility for a CAC in addiction medicine.
- Training sites include the Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre, The Ottawa Hospital, CHEO and the Oasis Program at Sandy Hill Community Health Centre.
- Residents do longitudinal continuity rotations, keep a weekly family medicine half day, and complete a QI or other scholarly project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- The Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre
- The Ottawa Hospital
- The Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
Show all 7Show fewer
- University of Ottawa Health Services
- Community Pediatric practice
- Community family medicine practice sites
- Hawkesbury General Hospital Mental Health and Addiction Regional Centre
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- family_practice_continuity
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Longitudinal continuity rotations following a roster of patients with substance use disorders.
- Training at a community health centre that hosts a safe consumption site.
- A francophone-only training option at Hawkesbury's regional mental health and addiction centre.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Outpatient experience
- Inpatient experiences
- Longitudinal rotations
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital (Ottawa)
- The Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
- University of Ottawa Health Services (Ottawa)
- Community Pediatric practice
- Community family medicine practice sites
- Hawkesbury General Hospital Mental Health and Addiction Regional Centre (Hawkesbury · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Jocelyn Howard
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%